Copilot vs Amazon Q Developer: terms compared
Both tools start free and add a paid plan per user. They meter usage differently and differ on IP indemnity. This comparison uses the two vendors' official plan pages only; we have not tested either tool.
By Give AI Tool · Research methodology
Researched comparison, not hands-on tested · Reviewed 21 Oct 2026 · Open in the comparison tool
The decision this helps with: Which free tier fits your editor, and which paid plan gives the IP terms your team needs?
Side by side
| GitHub Copilot | Amazon Q Developer | |
|---|---|---|
| Good for | Get help coding | Get help coding |
| Entry price | From $10/mo, billing frequency not stated | From $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly |
| Billing commitment | The price is listed per month. Whether billing is monthly or annual is not stated. | Monthly billing. An annual option is not stated. |
| Currency | USD | Shown as "$"; currency not named |
| Pricing model | Flat tiers, Usage-based | Per seat or user, Usage-based |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free-plan limits | 2,000 inline completions and 50 chat requests a month; limited agent usage | 50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity |
| What it does |
|
|
| Commercial use | Not verified | The pricing page lists IP indemnity as included on Pro and not included on the Free Tier. |
| Main tradeoff | Heavier use draws down AI credits at $0.01 each, and the page lists no IP indemnity on individual plans. | Free usage is capped at 50 agentic requests a month, and the exact Pro limits are not stated. |
| Choose it if | Consider it if you work in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse or Xcode and want completions and chat in the editor. | Consider it if you build on AWS and want a free tier now with a paid plan that includes IP indemnity later. |
| Research status | Researched overview, last checked 21 Oct 2026 | Researched overview, last checked 21 Oct 2026 |
Prices marked "billed annually" are shown per month but are paid once a year. They are not month-to-month prices.
2 rows are hidden because no tool in this comparison has a verified value for them.
What actually differs
Free-tier limits
GitHub Copilot Free lists 2,000 inline completions and 50 chat requests a month. Amazon Q Developer's Free Tier lists 50 agentic requests a month in the IDE or CLI, and 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades.
First paid plan
Copilot Pro is $10 a month and adds unlimited inline completions plus $15 of monthly AI credits. Amazon Q Developer Pro is $19 per user a month, charged when a user activates it, with 4,000 transformed lines a month per user pooled at the payer account.
IP indemnity
GitHub's plan table lists IP indemnity as not included on Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max. Amazon's page lists it as included on Pro and not on the Free Tier.
Data use
GitHub says it may use interactions from Copilot Free, Pro and Pro+ to train models unless you opt out, and that Business and Enterprise data is not used. Amazon lists data collection as opt-out on the Free Tier and opted out automatically on Pro.
Where they run
Copilot lists VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse, Xcode, the CLI, GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile. Amazon Q Developer lists IDE plugins, the CLI and the AWS Console.
Which one to choose
Choose GitHub Copilot if…
You want free completions across many editors with stated monthly limits, and do not need IP indemnity on an individual plan.
Choose Amazon Q Developer if…
You build on AWS, want a free tier of agentic requests now, and want IP indemnity stated on the paid plan.
When either could work, and when neither will
- Either could work: A trial on one small repository you may share. Both have a free tier for individual developers: Copilot lists 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, Amazon Q Developer lists 50 agentic requests a month.
- Look elsewhere if: Your code must stay inside an environment neither plan documents (we have not verified data handling), or you need an editor neither page lists.
A fair way to decide
Pick one small repository and one defined task, such as adding a unit test for a documented bug. For each tool, record whether the project's tests pass afterwards, whether the change stayed within the task, how many requests it used and how long the review took.
We have not run this test. Exact Amazon Q Developer Pro limits and both tools' data handling are not verified.
Not yet verified
Gaps in our research, not claims about either product.
- GitHub Copilot: Annual pricing and any trial terms; Business and Enterprise prices; Whether Max interactions are used for training; Credits per model.
- Amazon Q Developer: Currency code and tax treatment; Exact Pro agentic request limits; Trial period for Pro; Annual or volume pricing.
Try them
Goes to the official site. Not an affiliate link.
Goes to the official site. Not an affiliate link.
Full pages: GitHub Copilot · Amazon Q Developer · Affiliate disclosure