App builders
Bolt
Describe an app in chat and build it with hosting included; free plan of 1M tokens.
Best for: Starting an app from a prompt, a Figma file or a GitHub repository
36 researched tools with a confirmed free plan
A free plan lets you start without buying a subscription. It can still limit minutes, credits, exports or commercial use. Compare those limits here, then open the full overview for sources and plan details.
Not sure what kind of free you are looking at? Read free plan, trial or credits.
Only confirmed free plans appear here. A free trial is different. Paid prices below describe an optional upgrade, not a requirement to start. Tools are listed alphabetically.
Scroll sideways in the table to compare prices and tradeoffs.
| Tool | Free plan | Paid entry price | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe FireflyChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Free daily generations across image, video and audio with access to some models; daily limits are not quantified | From $9.99/mo, billed monthly | Credits reset each cycle and do not roll over, and outputs from partner models are the customer's responsibility to assess. |
| AIVAChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 3 downloads a month; tracks up to 3 minutes; MP3 and MIDI; non-commercial; AIVA owns copyright; credit required | From €11/mo, billed annually | Free and Standard leave copyright with AIVA, and prices are shown in euros plus VAT on annual billing only. |
| Amazon Q DeveloperChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity | From $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly | Free usage is capped at 50 agentic requests a month, and the exact Pro limits are not stated. |
| BoltChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 1M tokens a month (300K daily); 10MB uploads; 333K web requests a month; public and private projects; Bolt branding on websites | From $18/mo (currency not named), billed annually | Free tokens do not roll over and are capped daily, and Bolt branding appears on free websites. |
| CanvaChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 4.7+ million stock photos, graphics, fonts, videos and audio; 1.6+ million templates | From ₹132.50/user/mo, billed annually | The page shows which features exist but our text capture lost the per-plan ticks, so we cannot say which plan includes which feature. AI tools draw on a shared allowance. |
| ChatGPTChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access | From ₹399/mo, billing frequency not stated | Uploads, image creation, voice and deep research are limited on Free, and the page says the Go plan may include ads. |
| ClaudeChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included | From $17/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-month | Usage is capped per rolling five-hour window (with weekly limits on paid plans), and no fixed message counts are published. |
| ConsensusChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Basic paper search; 10 Pro messages a month; up to 3 Deep reviews a month | From $12/mo (currency not named), billed annually | Only annual-billing prices are shown, and free AI analysis is capped at 10 Pro messages a month. |
| CursorChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Limited agent and Chat requests | From $8/mo (currency not named), billed monthly | Exact request or token counts per plan are not stated, and third-party models are billed separately by usage on Premium and above. |
| DescriptChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 60 media minutes per month; 100 AI credits (one-time); 720p with watermark; 1 seat | From $16/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $24 (currency not named) month-to-month | Free video exports are limited to 720p and include a watermark; higher export quality needs a paid plan. |
| DevinChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Light quota; limited model availability; unlimited inline edits and Tab completions; 1 member | From $20/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated | Usage allowances refresh daily and weekly without published counts, and extra usage is bought at API pricing. |
| ElevenLabsChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 10k credits per month; 3 Studio projects | From $5/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $6 (currency not named) month-to-month | Credits are forfeited if you downgrade or cancel, and rollover does not apply to the free plan. |
| ElicitChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Limited Research Agent and Reports usage; unlimited search across 138 million papers, summaries and chat with full-text papers; Zotero import | From $49/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually | Research Agent and Reports usage is limited on Basic, and the paid plans cost $49 and $169 per user a month. |
| FathomChecked 20 Oct 2026 | Unlimited recordings and transcriptions | From $15/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $19 (currency not named) month-to-month | Team and Business plans have a 2-user minimum, and the page leaves some "limited use" items unclear. |
| Fireflies.aiChecked 20 Oct 2026 | Unlimited transcription (asterisked on the page); limited AI summaries; 400 minutes of storage per team; 20 AI credits | From $10/seat/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $18 (currency not named) month-to-month | The free plan has 400 minutes of storage per team and limited AI summaries, and AI credits are small allowances (20 to 50). |
| FlikiChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 3 credits a month; 300 voices in 80+ languages; 720p; Fliki watermark; 5-minute export | From ₹599.25/user/mo, billed annually, or ₹799 month-to-month | The free plan allows 3 credits a month and includes a watermark, and the page disagrees with itself about Premium video length (40 minutes in the table, 30 in the FAQ) and about currency (rupees shown, "USD" in the FAQ). |
| GammaChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 400 credits at signup; up to 10 slides per prompt; import PDF and PPTX; export PDF, PPTX, PNG and Google Slides | From ₹400/seat/mo, billed annually | Free credits are a signup grant, Gamma branding stays until Plus, and prices were only visible in rupees. |
| GeminiChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Flash-Lite model; image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, Gemini Notebook; limited Flow access; 15 GB storage | From ₹399/mo, billed monthly | Usage on paid plans is stated as multiples of the free plan, not as fixed limits, and the plans are bundled with storage and other Google services. |
| GitHub CopilotChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 2,000 inline completions and 50 chat requests a month; limited agent usage | From $10/mo, billing frequency not stated | Heavier use draws down AI credits at $0.01 each, and the page lists no IP indemnity on individual plans. |
| HeyGenChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar | From $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month | Credit cost per video is not published, and credits expire if you cancel. |
| Leonardo.AiChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 150 fast tokens a day; token bank of 150; public creations; basic quality settings; 1 personal collection | From $12/mo (currency not named), billed monthly | Free creations are public, and unlimited relaxed generation applies only to selected models and may slow at busy times. |
| LovableChecked 21 Oct 2026 | No credit card; daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month); 20 Cloud credits a month; unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing | From $25/mo (currency not named), billed monthly | Free publishing is invite-only, and credits are the unit that limits how much you can build. |
| MakeChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 1,000 credits a month; 1 MB data storage; 1 data store | From $9/mo (currency not named), billed annually | Every module run costs credits, so scenarios with many steps use them quickly, and scenarios stop when credits run out. |
| MurfChecked 20 Oct 2026 | The vendor's FAQ refers to 10 free minutes; other limits are not confirmed | From $19/mo (currency not named), billed annually | Studio plans cap voice-generation time (24 hours on Creator, 96 on Business), and only the yearly-billed price is confirmed. |
| NotionChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 5 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AI | From $10/user/mo, billing frequency not stated | The page does not state the length of the AI trial or the credits included with each plan, and annual per-member prices are not shown. |
| Otter.aiChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 300 monthly transcription minutes; 3 lifetime imports; 30 minutes per conversation; 25 conversations kept; 20 AI Chat queries per month | From $8.33/user/mo, billed annually, or $16.99 month-to-month | Basic keeps only the 25 most recent conversations and allows 3 lifetime file imports. |
| PerplexityChecked 21 Oct 2026 | The page lists Pro as "everything in Free and" more; the free plan's own limits are not stated | From $17/mo, billed annually | The page gives plan names and prices but no numeric free-plan limits, and it does not show a month-to-month price. |
| PitchChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 100 one-time AI credits; 5 members and 2 guests; unlimited presentations; branded PDF exports and embeds; 10 GB storage | From €10/mo, billed annually | Paid prices are shown only for annual billing, free exports are branded, and the page's PowerPoint-export details conflict. |
| PixelcutChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Limited background removal and upscale; free export without a watermark | From $8/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $10 (currency not named) month-to-month | Credits apply to advanced AI models, many from third-party partners, and the free allowance for them is not stated on the page. |
| RecraftChecked 21 Oct 2026 | Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated | No verified paid price | Free images are public and not commercial, and plan prices and free credit limits were not stated on the page we read. |
| RunwayChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 125 one-time credits; 5GB storage | From $12/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $15 (currency not named) month-to-month | Free credits are a one-time grant, and Standard and Pro credits do not roll over. |
| SunoChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights | From $8/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated | Free creation is limited to 50 credits a day with a shared queue, and paid plans cap song downloads each month. |
| SynthesiaChecked 20 Oct 2026 | 500 credits per month; 10 minutes of video per month; 9 AI avatars; Synthesia watermark on videos | From $18/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month | Free output is watermarked, and at about 100 credits per video minute longer videos use up plans quickly. |
| UdioChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 10 credits a day and 100 a month, no rollover; up to 4 songs at once; 3 full-length songs a day | From $8/mo, billed annually, or $10 month-to-month | Credits do not roll over, free song length and count are capped daily, and commercial-use terms were not on the page we read. |
| v0Checked 21 Oct 2026 | 7 messages a day; deploy to Vercel; Design Mode; GitHub sync | From $30/user/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated | Free use is capped at 7 messages a day, and the page does not state the billing interval for the paid plans. |
| ZapierChecked 21 Oct 2026 | 100 tasks a month; two-step Zaps; 15-minute polling; 2,500 Table records; 10 form pages | From $19.99/mo, billed annually, or $29.99 month-to-month | Tasks are the billing unit, so busy automations can hit limits. With pay-per-task on, overage is charged at 2.5x (monthly) or 1.25x (annual) the base rate. |
Check how much you can build for free and how it resets: daily credits, a monthly token pool or a daily message cap. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
App builders
Describe an app in chat and build it with hosting included; free plan of 1M tokens.
Best for: Starting an app from a prompt, a Figma file or a GitHub repository
App builders
Turn a prompt into an editable web app; free daily credits and a $25 Pro plan.
Best for: Turning a web-app brief into an editable prototype that a team can build on
App builders
Generate and deploy UI and apps from prompts; free plan of 7 messages a day.
Best for: Designing and shipping interface prototypes that deploy to Vercel
Look at whether the free plan caps messages, uploads, image creation or research, and how the cap resets. Claude's resets in rolling five-hour windows, while ChatGPT lists unlimited text chats with limits elsewhere. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Assistants
General-purpose AI assistant with a free plan and Go, Plus and Pro tiers.
Best for: Everyday writing, analysis and questions on web, iOS and Android
Assistants
AI assistant with a free plan, Pro and Max tiers, and team seats.
Best for: Drafting, analysis and file-based work, with Artifacts and web search
Assistants
Google's AI assistant, free with a Google account, with paid Google AI plans.
Best for: People in the Google ecosystem who want Deep Research, Gemini Live and image tools
Zapier counts tasks, Make counts credits per module run, n8n counts workflow executions with unlimited users and workflows. Lindy uses credits per assistant task. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Automation
Automation platform billed in credits, with a free plan of 1,000 credits a month.
Best for: Multi-step scenarios where you want to pay by the credit and manage the platform through an API
Automation
Workflow automation sold by monthly task volume, with a free plan.
Best for: Simple event-driven automations across apps, with a free plan to test
Look for fixed limits (for example completions and chat requests a month), credit pools, or allowances that refresh daily and weekly. A low sticker price can hide usage-based extras. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Coding
AWS coding assistant with a free tier of 50 agentic requests a month and a $19 Pro plan.
Best for: Developers on AWS who want a free tier and IP indemnity on a paid plan
Coding
AI code editor whose plans share a usage pool, from a limited free plan to Ultra.
Best for: Developers who want an AI-first editor and will manage a shared usage pool
Coding
Autonomous software engineer with cloud agents, plus a free desktop editor.
Best for: Teams that want to delegate engineering tasks to cloud agents that return pull requests
Coding
AI coding assistant in your editor, on GitHub and in the CLI, with a free plan.
Best for: Developers who want AI completions and chat inside VS Code, JetBrains and GitHub
Recraft states that free-plan images are owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use, while paid plans grant ownership. Midjourney and Adobe publish their own terms. Read the plan-specific terms before client work. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Images
Adobe's generative image, video and audio tools, with a free plan and monthly credit plans.
Best for: Creators and teams who want generative tools with stated commercial-use terms for Firefly models
Images · Presentations
Design and publishing suite with a free plan; background removal is moving in from remove.bg.
Best for: Creators and small teams who make social posts, presentations and product images in one place
Images
Image and video generator with a free daily-token plan and a pay-as-you-go API.
Best for: Hobbyists and small teams who want daily free generations and a path to API use
Images
Background removal, upscaling and AI image editing, with a free plan and commercial licence on paid plans.
Best for: Sellers and small businesses cleaning up product photos with background removal and AI backgrounds
Images
Image and vector generator that spells out ownership: free images are public, paid are yours.
Best for: Designers who need vector output and clear ownership terms for paid work
Suno lists no commercial rights on Free and commercial use from Pro. AIVA states that AIVA owns the copyright on Free and Standard and you own it on Pro. Soundraw states commercial use on every paid plan. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Music
AI music composer that states copyright and monetisation terms for each plan.
Best for: Composing background music where copyright ownership and monetisation rules matter
Music
AI music maker with a free daily-credit plan; commercial rights start on Pro.
Best for: Making songs from prompts, with commercial rights on paid plans
Music
Song generator with a free daily quota and Standard and Pro credit plans.
Best for: Experimenting with song generation, editing and style references on a free daily quota
Gamma and Pitch list free plans. Beautiful.ai lists a 14-day trial that needs a card and renews automatically. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Images · Presentations
Design and publishing suite with a free plan; background removal is moving in from remove.bg.
Best for: Creators and small teams who make social posts, presentations and product images in one place
Presentations
AI presentations, documents and websites from a prompt, with a free credit plan.
Best for: Turning notes or an outline into a presentation quickly and exporting it to PowerPoint
Presentations
Collaborative presentation software with a free plan and euro-priced paid plans.
Best for: Teams that want shared presentation workspaces, roles and version history
Perplexity answers open web questions. Elicit, Consensus and Scite work over academic literature, with different strengths. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Research
Academic search engine with a free plan, cited AI analysis and Deep reviews.
Best for: Finding what peer-reviewed research says about a question, with cited AI analysis
Research
Research assistant for academic papers, with free search and paid systematic-review tools.
Best for: Searching and extracting data from academic papers, including systematic reviews
Research
Answer engine with inline citations, a free plan, and Pro and Max tiers.
Best for: Researching questions where inline citations to sources matter
Look at video length, watermarking and export resolution, not just the word "free". Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Video · Voice & audio
Audio and video editing with plans measured in media hours and AI credits.
Best for: Creators who record and edit audio or video and want a free start
Video · Voice & audio
Text-to-video and text-to-speech from scripts, blog posts or slides, with a free plan that adds a watermark.
Best for: Creators turning scripts or blog posts into narrated videos with AI voices
Video
AI video tool with a free plan, credit-based paid tiers and multi-language output.
Best for: Creators and small businesses testing avatar video without a card
Video
Generative video platform with a one-time free credit grant and monthly credit tiers.
Best for: Creators generating short video clips from prompts
Video
AI video platform with a free tier and credit-based paid plans.
Best for: Teams making presenter-style videos without filming
Check which plan first lists a commercial licence before you publish voice output. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Video · Voice & audio
Audio and video editing with plans measured in media hours and AI credits.
Best for: Creators who record and edit audio or video and want a free start
Voice & audio
Credit-based voice platform covering speech, transcription, dubbing, music and sound effects.
Best for: Creators and developers who want many voice features on one credit pool
Video · Voice & audio
Text-to-video and text-to-speech from scripts, blog posts or slides, with a free plan that adds a watermark.
Best for: Creators turning scripts or blog posts into narrated videos with AI voices
Voice & audio
Studio voiceovers from $19 a month billed annually, plus a pay-as-you-go API.
Best for: Voiceovers for presentations, e-learning and explainer videos
Per seat, per credit, or per article all behave differently as your team or output grows. Work out your own monthly volume before comparing headline prices. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Writing & docs
Team workspace with AI agents and meeting notes on the Business plan; priced in USD.
Best for: Teams that keep documents and projects in one workspace and want AI inside it
Minutes per month, maximum length per conversation and history retention decide whether free is workable. Open a tool overview to check what its free plan actually includes.
Meeting notes
Meeting recorder whose free plan lists unlimited recordings and transcripts.
Best for: Freelancers and sales teams who want unlimited free call recording
Meeting notes
Meeting bot and Chrome extension with unlimited transcription listed on every plan.
Best for: Teams recording many meetings that want unlimited transcription on paid seats
Meeting notes
Meeting transcription with a free plan capped at 300 minutes a month.
Best for: Individuals who want a free transcription plan with every limit itemised
A free plan has its own allowance and restrictions. A trial gives temporary access to a paid offering. Before you start either, check whether a card is needed, when access ends and whether billing starts automatically.
Free availability does not mean every feature is free. Our overviews distinguish vendor documentation from hands-on testing; read our methodology.
Learn how to compare AI pricing · Get help choosing a tool · Browse confirmed free trials