Verdict
Is Amazon Q Developer's free tier enough to try, and what does Pro add?
The Free Tier lists 50 agentic requests a month in the IDE or CLI and 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades, with no admin dashboard and no IP indemnity. Pro ($19 per user a month) adds higher agentic limits, 4,000 transformed lines a month, IP indemnity and admin dashboards.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you build on AWS and want a free tier now with a paid plan that includes IP indemnity later.
Start here: first steps with Amazon Q Developer
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Amazon Q Developer, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Developers on AWS who want a free tier and IP indemnity on a paid plan.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Get help coding", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial use, as we recorded it: The pricing page lists IP indemnity as included on Pro and not included on the Free Tier.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A developer trying agentic coding on the Free Tier.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs IP indemnity on the free tier: it is not included there.
- Anyone who needs published Pro request limits: the page does not give them.
Alternatives: GitHub Copilot, Devin. Reasons to switch.
What Amazon Q Developer actually does
- Answers questions and does agentic coding in IDE plugins and the CLI.
- Transforms Java and .NET code (Java upgrades on the free tier).
- Provides general Q&A and common-error diagnosis in the AWS Console.
- Tracks references and lets you suppress public-code suggestions; Pro adds Identity Center support and admin controls.
Source: Amazon Q Developer pricing page (opens in a new tab).
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A developer trying agentic coding on the Free Tier.
- A team on AWS that needs IP indemnity and admin dashboards (Pro).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs IP indemnity on the free tier: it is not included there.
- Anyone who needs published Pro request limits: the page does not give them.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Upgrade a Java project
Outcome: A transformed project you have reviewed and tested
- Open the project in a supported IDE with the Q Developer plugin.
- Start a Java upgrade through the transformation capability.
- Review the changes and run your tests.
- Watch your monthly lines-of-code allowance (1,000 on Free, 4,000 on Pro).
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- The Free Tier's monthly limits are stated
- IP indemnity is stated as included on Pro
- Transformation overage pricing is published ($0.003 per line)
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- The Free Tier has no admin dashboard and no IP indemnity
- Pro cancellation mid-month still charges the full month
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
Show all 2 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Tier Free |
| 50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity |
| Pro |
| Increased agentic limits; 4,000 transformed lines a month per user, pooled; IP indemnity; admin dashboards through IAM Identity Center |
How usage is counted
- Free Tier: 50 agentic requests a month, and 1,000 lines of code a month per user for Java upgrades. Limits may be adjusted for regional factors, payment history or fraud.
- Pro: increased agentic limits (not stated) and 4,000 transformed lines a month per user, pooled at the payer account; overage is $0.003 per line.
- Pro is charged per user per month on activation, with the first month prorated, and cancelling mid-month still incurs the full month.
- Pricing model
- Per seat or user, Usage-based
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- The pricing page lists IP indemnity as included on Pro and not included on the Free Tier.
- API
- Not confirmed · Not covered on the pricing page.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- Overage on transformation is $0.003 per line of code. Data collection is opt-out on the Free Tier and opted out on Pro.
- Rechecked on 21 October 2026: the pricing page, its FAQ and its footnotes name no currency, so the "$" is shown as listed and never treated as USD.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
GitHub Copilot
Reason to consider it: A free plan of 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, in more editors, with Pro at $10 a month.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for GitHub Copilot but not for Amazon Q Developer: ios, android.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Amazon Q Developer only.
Devin
Reason to consider it: A free desktop plan with unlimited Tab completions, and cloud agents from $20 a month.
- API: Devin documented; Amazon Q Developer not verified.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for Devin but not for Amazon Q Developer: desktop.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Amazon Q Developer only.
Cursor
Reason to consider it: An AI-first editor with a limited free plan and a shared usage pool on paid plans.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Amazon Q Developer only.
Frequently asked questions
Does Amazon Q Developer have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 50 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnity.
How much does Amazon Q Developer cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Amazon Q Developer have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not covered on the pricing page.
Can I use Amazon Q Developer output commercially?
The pricing page lists IP indemnity as included on Pro and not included on the Free Tier.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Q Developer pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Free Tier and Pro limits, prices, IP indemnity, data use | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Currency code and tax treatment
- Exact Pro agentic request limits
- Trial period for Pro
- Annual or volume pricing
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added after research from the vendor's official pages.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Rechecked currency wording and billing basis on the official pricing page.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.