AI video tools · AI voice and audio tools

Descript

Audio and video editing with plans measured in media hours and AI credits.

Verdict

Is Descript's free plan enough to start editing, and when does a paid plan become necessary?

Descript's plans are measured in media hours and AI credits. The free plan gives 60 media minutes a month with 720p, watermarked export.

Who should consider it. Consider it if you record and edit regularly and want to start free.

Start here: first steps with Descript

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Descript, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Creators who record and edit audio or video and want a free start.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Edit podcasts and video", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 60 media minutes per month; 100 AI credits (one-time); 720p with watermark; 1 seat.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: A podcaster recording up to 5 hours a month per drive (Hobbyist).
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
  • Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
  • Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Anyone who needs watermark-free export on the free plan: Free exports are 720p with a watermark.
  • Buyers who need top-up costs: top-ups exist on Creator and Business but prices are not stated.

Alternatives: ElevenLabs, Murf. Reasons to switch.

What Descript actually does

  • Records and edits audio and video in one tool.
  • Offers AI features, paid for in AI credits, to help edit and generate audio and video.
  • Provides stock AI voices (25+, and 60+ on Business).
  • A beta API can create projects, import media by URL, transcribe and compose.

Source: Descript pricing page (opens in a new tab), Descript API help article (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • A podcaster recording up to 5 hours a month per drive (Hobbyist).
  • A two-person video team that needs 4K export (Creator allows 1 to 3 seats).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Anyone who needs watermark-free export on the free plan: Free exports are 720p with a watermark.
  • Buyers who need top-up costs: top-ups exist on Creator and Business but prices are not stated.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Edit a recorded interview

Outcome: An exported interview within your plan's media-hour allowance

  1. Record or import the interview (counts against media time).
  2. Transcribe it.
  3. Use AI features for edits (these use AI credits).
  4. Export at 1080p or 4K on a paid plan.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Free plan needs no credit card
  • Media hours, credits and export limits are in one comparison table
  • Annual billing saves up to 35% according to the page

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • Free exports are 720p with a watermark

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Free plan

60 media minutes per month; 100 AI credits (one-time); 720p with watermark; 1 seat

Free trial

Not stated

No time-limited paid-plan trial is mentioned.

Cheapest paid plan

Hobbyist

From $16/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $24 (currency not named) month-to-month

Show all 5 plans and limits
Descript plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Free Free
  • Free
60 media minutes per month; 100 AI credits (one-time); 720p with watermark; 1 seat
Hobbyist
  • $24/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
  • $16/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually
10 media hours per month; 400 AI credits per month; 1080p; 1 seat
Creator
  • $35/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
  • $24/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually
30 media hours per month; 800 AI credits per month; 4K; 1 to 3 seats
Business
  • $65/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
  • $50/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually
40 media hours per month; 1,500 AI credits per month; 4K; up to 5 seats; priority support with SLA
EnterpriseCustom pricing (contact sales)No limits listed

How usage is counted

  • Media time per month: 60 minutes free; 10, 30 and 40 hours on paid plans.
  • AI credits: 100 one-time on Free; 400, 800 and 1,500 a month on paid plans.
  • Export: 720p with watermark on Free; 1080p on Hobbyist; 4K on Creator and Business.
  • Cloud storage: 5GB, 100GB, 1TB and 2TB by plan.
Pricing model
Per seat or user, Credits
Currency
Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Yes · Descript's help center calls its API a beta; imports use media minutes and AI edits use credits.
Pricing checked
20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Annual prices are monthly equivalents with yearly billing. The live pricing toggle separately shows month-to-month prices.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

ElevenLabs

Reason to consider it: A credit-based voice platform with speech, dubbing and an API, rather than an editor.

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for ElevenLabs only.

Compare Descript with ElevenLabs

Murf

Reason to consider it: Voiceover-focused studio with commercial rights listed from the Creator plan.

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Murf only.

Compare Descript with Murf

Compare Descript with ElevenLabs and Murf

Frequently asked questions

Does Descript have a free plan?

Yes. The free plan lists: 60 media minutes per month; 100 AI credits (one-time); 720p with watermark; 1 seat.

How much does Descript cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Hobbyist: from $16/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $24 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.

Does Descript have an API?

Yes. Descript's help center calls its API a beta; imports use media minutes and AI edits use credits.

Can I use Descript output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Descript pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, prices, media time, credits; annual and monthly billing toggle checked in a live browser20 Oct 2026
Descript API help article (opens in a new tab)Existence and status of the API20 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Whether a paid-plan trial exists
  • Top-up prices
  • Refund policy
  • Commercial-use terms

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.
  • 20 Oct 2026 · Rechecked the live annual/monthly pricing toggle and corrected the outdated billing-ambiguity note.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.