Suno vs AIVA: music ownership and monetising

Both tools have a free plan and paid plans that change what you may do with the music. This comparison reads only the two pricing pages; we have not generated music with either.

By Give AI Tool · Research methodology

Researched comparison, not hands-on tested · Reviewed 21 Oct 2026 · Open in the comparison tool

The decision this helps with: Which AI music tool states the rights you need for your project?

Side by side

Comparison of Suno and AIVA
 SunoAIVA
Good forGenerate musicGenerate music
Entry priceFrom $8/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not statedFrom €11/mo, billed annually
Billing commitmentThe price is listed per month. Whether billing is monthly or annual is not stated.Only an annual-billing price is shown. A month-to-month price is not stated.
CurrencyShown as "$"; currency not namedEUR
Pricing modelCreditsFlat tiers
Free planYesYes
Free-plan limits50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights3 downloads a month; tracks up to 3 minutes; MP3 and MIDI; non-commercial; AIVA owns copyright; credit required
What it does
  • Generates songs from text prompts and lets you upload audio of up to 8 minutes.
  • The free plan runs in a shared creation queue with 4 concurrent generations.
  • Paid plans add commercial use rights, more credits and song downloads.
  • Composes music tracks and exports them as MP3 and MIDI (all formats and high-quality WAV on Pro).
  • Limits downloads and track length by plan.
  • Offers student and school discounts through a contact form or live chat, and an Enterprise tab.
Commercial useThe pricing page lists "No commercial rights" on Free and commercial use rights on Pro and Premier, and says to see the terms of service for limitations on commercial use.Free: non-commercial only, no monetisation, credit to AIVA required, AIVA owns the copyright. Standard: limited monetisation on YouTube, Twitch, TikTok and Instagram, AIVA owns the copyright. Pro: you own the copyright and full monetisation is allowed.
Main tradeoffFree creation is limited to 50 credits a day with a shared queue, and paid plans cap song downloads each month.Free and Standard leave copyright with AIVA, and prices are shown in euros plus VAT on annual billing only.
Choose it ifConsider it if you want to experiment with song generation for free and move to Pro before using songs commercially.Consider it if you need composed tracks and want copyright and monetisation terms spelled out per plan.
Research statusResearched overview, last checked 21 Oct 2026Researched overview, last checked 21 Oct 2026

Prices marked "billed annually" are shown per month but are paid once a year. They are not month-to-month prices.

2 rows are hidden because no tool in this comparison has a verified value for them.

What actually differs

Free plan

Suno's free starter plan gives 50 credits a day with no commercial rights. AIVA's Free plan gives 3 downloads a month of tracks up to 3 minutes, is non-commercial, requires credit to AIVA, and AIVA owns the copyright.

Commercial rights on paid plans

Suno lists commercial use rights on Pro ($8) and Premier ($24), subject to its terms of service. AIVA states monetisation by plan: Standard (€11 a month, annual billing) is limited to YouTube, Twitch, TikTok and Instagram with AIVA owning the copyright, and Pro (€33) lists copyright ownership by you and full monetisation.

Downloads and formats

Suno Pro includes 20 song downloads a month and Premier 60. AIVA Standard includes 15 downloads, and Pro 300 with all formats including WAV.

Currency and billing

AIVA's prices are in euros plus VAT and shown for annual billing. Suno's prices show "$" per month without stating whether they are billed monthly or annually.

Which one to choose

Choose Suno if…

You want to generate songs from prompts on a free daily quota and move to a low-cost plan for commercial rights.

Choose AIVA if…

You need the copyright and monetisation terms spelled out per plan, including ownership by you on the Pro plan.

Not yet verified

Gaps in our research, not claims about either product.

  • Suno: Whether paid plans are billed monthly or annually; Trial availability; The currency code; Details of the terms-of-service limits on commercial use.
  • AIVA: Monthly-billed prices; Free-trial details; Student, school and Enterprise pricing; Refund terms.

Try them

Visit official website (opens in a new tab)

Goes to the official site. Not an affiliate link.

Visit official website (opens in a new tab)

Goes to the official site. Not an affiliate link.

Full pages: Suno · AIVA · Affiliate disclosure