AI music tools

Suno

AI music maker with a free daily-credit plan; commercial rights start on Pro.

Verdict

Can you use Suno songs commercially on the free plan?

No: the free plan lists "No commercial rights". Pro ($8 a month, 2,500 credits) and Premier ($24 a month, 10,000 credits) list commercial use rights, subject to the terms of service.

Who should consider it. Consider it if you want to experiment with song generation for free and move to Pro before using songs commercially.

Start here: first steps with Suno

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Suno, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Making songs from prompts, with commercial rights on paid plans.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Generate music", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial use, as we recorded it: The pricing page lists "No commercial rights" on Free and commercial use rights on Pro and Premier, and says to see the terms of service for limitations on commercial use.
Which plan to start with
Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: A hobbyist making songs for personal use on the free plan.
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
  • Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Anyone who wants to use songs commercially without paying: the free plan lists no commercial rights.
  • Anyone who needs unlimited downloads: paid plans cap downloads per month.

Alternatives: AIVA, Soundraw. Reasons to switch.

What Suno actually does

  • Generates songs from text prompts and lets you upload audio of up to 8 minutes.
  • The free plan runs in a shared creation queue with 4 concurrent generations.
  • Paid plans add commercial use rights, more credits and song downloads.

Source: Suno pricing page (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • A hobbyist making songs for personal use on the free plan.
  • A video creator who needs commercial rights for background music (Pro or Premier).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Anyone who wants to use songs commercially without paying: the free plan lists no commercial rights.
  • Anyone who needs unlimited downloads: paid plans cap downloads per month.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Make background music for a video

Outcome: A licensed track for a video, made on a paid plan

  1. Write a prompt describing the mood, tempo and instruments.
  2. Generate several versions and pick one.
  3. Upgrade to Pro before using the song commercially, and check the terms of service for limits.
  4. Download the track within your monthly download allowance.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Commercial-rights status is stated for each plan
  • Credit and download allowances are listed
  • A free plan with daily credits

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • The free plan has no commercial rights
  • Paid plans cap song downloads each month
  • Commercial use remains subject to the terms of service

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Free plan

50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights

Free trial

Not stated

A trial is separate from a free plan.

Cheapest paid plan

Pro

From $8/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated

Show all 3 plans and limits
Suno plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Free (starter) Free
  • Free
50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights
Pro
  • $8/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated
Commercial use rights; 2,500 credits and 20 song downloads a month
Premier
  • $24/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated
Commercial use rights; 10,000 credits and 60 song downloads a month

How usage is counted

  • Free: 50 credits a day, uploads of up to 8 minutes of audio, shared queue, 4 concurrent generations.
  • Pro: 2,500 credits and 20 song downloads a month. Premier: 10,000 credits and 60 song downloads a month.
Pricing model
Credits
Currency
Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
Commercial use
The pricing page lists "No commercial rights" on Free and commercial use rights on Pro and Premier, and says to see the terms of service for limitations on commercial use.
API
Not confirmed · Not covered on the pricing page.
Pricing checked
21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Paid plans are listed per month. The page does not say whether they are billed monthly or annually.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

AIVA

Reason to consider it: States who owns the copyright on each plan: AIVA owns it on Free and Standard, and you own it on Pro (€33 a month, annual billing).

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Suno with AIVA

Read the side-by-side comparison

Soundraw

Reason to consider it: Covers the same category (Music).

  • Free access: Soundraw is "free options not stated"; Suno is "free plan".
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Platforms documented for Soundraw but not for Suno: web.

Compare Suno with Soundraw

Udio

Reason to consider it: Covers the same category (Music).

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Platforms documented for Udio but not for Suno: web.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Suno only.

Compare Suno with Udio

Compare Suno with AIVA and Soundraw

Frequently asked questions

Does Suno have a free plan?

Yes. The free plan lists: 50 credits a day; upload up to 8 minutes of audio; shared queue; 4 concurrent generations; no commercial rights.

How much does Suno cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $8/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not stated. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.

Does Suno have an API?

We could not confirm this from an official page. Not covered on the pricing page.

Can I use Suno output commercially?

The pricing page lists "No commercial rights" on Free and commercial use rights on Pro and Premier, and says to see the terms of service for limitations on commercial use.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Suno pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, prices, credits, commercial rights21 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Whether paid plans are billed monthly or annually
  • Trial availability
  • The currency code
  • Details of the terms-of-service limits on commercial use

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
  • 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.