Verdict
Is Cursor's free plan enough to evaluate the editor, and how does the shared usage pool work on paid plans?
The Free plan lists limited agent and Chat requests. Paid plans range from $8 (Plus, an introductory plan on Grok models only) to $200 (Ultra), and usage is a pool that refreshes weekly, with third-party models billed at API list price from Premium upward.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you want an editor built around AI agents and are comfortable with usage-based costs for third-party models.
Start here: first steps with Cursor
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Cursor, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Developers who want an AI-first editor and will manage a shared usage pool.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Get help coding", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Limited agent and Chat requests.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A developer evaluating an AI-first editor on the Free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who wants fixed, published request counts: the page gives multiples of Plus only.
- Anyone who needs third-party models included in the price: they are billed separately by usage on Premium and above.
Alternatives: GitHub Copilot, Devin. Reasons to switch.
What Cursor actually does
- An AI coding editor with agent and Chat features.
- Premium and above add the latest Grok models, cloud agents and automations, code hosting and AI code reviews, plus third-party models at API list price.
- The pricing page presents Cursor together with Grok products (Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine, Build and the Grok API) under one plan structure.
- Teams adds centralised billing, usage analytics, SAML/OIDC SSO and a team marketplace for internal rules, skills and plugins; Enterprise adds SCIM, audit logs and granular spend controls.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A developer evaluating an AI-first editor on the Free plan.
- A team that needs centralised billing, usage analytics and SSO (Teams).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who wants fixed, published request counts: the page gives multiples of Plus only.
- Anyone who needs third-party models included in the price: they are billed separately by usage on Premium and above.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Refactor a module with an agent and review the diff
Outcome: A reviewed, tested refactor
- Open the repository in the editor and describe the refactor to the agent.
- Let the agent make the change on a branch.
- Review the diff line by line and run your test suite.
- Revert or edit any change you do not understand before merging.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- A free plan and an $8 introductory plan lower the cost of trying it
- Privacy mode is documented: when enabled, code is not used for training by Cursor or its model providers
- Team and Enterprise controls (SSO, SCIM, audit logs, spend controls) are itemised
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Usage allowances are given as multiples, not fixed counts
- Third-party models are billed at API list price on top of the plan from Premium
- The default privacy-mode setting is not stated
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planLimited agent and Chat requests
Free trial
Not statedThe page does not state a free trial.
Cheapest paid plan
PlusFrom $8/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
Show all 7 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| Limited agent and Chat requests |
| Plus |
| Shared usage pool; Grok models only |
| Premium |
| 4x Plus usage; latest Grok models; cloud agents and automations; third-party models at API list price |
| Super |
| 15x Plus usage; priority model access at peak times |
| Ultra |
| 50x Plus usage; earliest access to products and models |
| Teams |
| 4x to 50x Plus usage; SSO; centralised billing; usage analytics |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Invoice billing; SCIM; audit logs; granular spend controls |
How usage is counted
- Usage is a pool shared across Cursor and Grok that refreshes weekly. Top-ups are available once the allowance is used.
- Premium is 4x Plus, Super 15x and Ultra 50x. Teams range from 4x to 50x.
- Third-party models are billed separately by usage on Premium and above, and spending caps can be set. Grok API usage is billed separately and does not draw from the plan's pool.
- Pricing model
- Usage-based, Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Not confirmed · The page mentions Grok API usage billed separately; a Cursor API is not described.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- All listed prices are monthly. Annual pricing is not stated, although checkout links suggest a yearly option may exist.
- Prices exclude taxes and may change, according to the page.
- Rechecked on 21 October 2026: the pricing page, its FAQ and its footnotes name no currency, so the "$" is shown as listed and never treated as USD.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
GitHub Copilot
Reason to consider it: Works inside several editors and IDEs, with a free plan listing 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for GitHub Copilot but not for Cursor: web, ios, android.
Devin
Reason to consider it: Offers cloud agents from $20 a month and an unlimited-Tab-completion free plan, with a team plan from $80 a month plus $40 per full seat.
- API: Devin documented; Cursor not verified.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for Devin but not for Cursor: desktop.
Frequently asked questions
Does Cursor have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: Limited agent and Chat requests.
How much does Cursor cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Plus: from $8/mo (currency not named), billed monthly. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Cursor have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. The page mentions Grok API usage billed separately; a Cursor API is not described.
Can I use Cursor output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Cursor pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, usage pool, team features, privacy mode | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Annual pricing and any annual discount
- Free-trial availability
- Supported operating systems
- The currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Rechecked currency wording and billing basis on the official pricing page.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.