AI coding tools

AI coding tools range from completions inside your editor to agents that take a task and return a pull request. Most start free, so the questions that matter are how usage is metered and how your code and prompts are treated.

Several vendors meter usage as pooled credits or allowances that refresh daily or weekly, with extra usage billed at API rates. Compare how each limits heavy use, not only the monthly price.

How to choose in this category

Who this is for

Developers and small engineering teams who want suggestions, chat or agent help inside an editor or on an existing codebase, and who will review and test every change.

Problems it solves

  • Writing repetitive or boilerplate code.
  • Understanding unfamiliar code.
  • Making a small change with tests across several files.

How to choose

  1. Check that the tool supports your editor and language.
  2. Compare free allowances: completions, chat requests and agent requests a month.
  3. Read what the plan says about code ownership, IP indemnity and data handling.
  4. Try each candidate on the same small task in a repository you may share.
  5. Price paid plans per developer and note any usage-based charges.

Compare plans and tradeoffs

Documented plan details, listed alphabetically. Free-plan availability does not mean every feature is included. Compare confirmed free plans across categories.

Scroll sideways in the table to compare prices and tradeoffs.

AI coding tools: free limits, pricing and tradeoffs
ToolFree planPaid entry priceMain tradeoff
Amazon Q DeveloperChecked 21 Oct 202650 agentic requests a month; 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrades; no admin dashboard; no IP indemnityFrom $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthlyFree usage is capped at 50 agentic requests a month, and the exact Pro limits are not stated.
CursorChecked 21 Oct 2026Limited agent and Chat requestsFrom $8/mo (currency not named), billed monthlyExact request or token counts per plan are not stated, and third-party models are billed separately by usage on Premium and above.
DevinChecked 21 Oct 2026Light quota; limited model availability; unlimited inline edits and Tab completions; 1 memberFrom $20/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not statedUsage allowances refresh daily and weekly without published counts, and extra usage is bought at API pricing.
GitHub CopilotChecked 21 Oct 20262,000 inline completions and 50 chat requests a month; limited agent usageFrom $10/mo, billing frequency not statedHeavier use draws down AI credits at $0.01 each, and the page lists no IP indemnity on individual plans.

4 tools researched

Filter and sort
  • AWS coding assistant with a free tier of 50 agentic requests a month and a $19 Pro plan.

    Best for: Developers on AWS who want a free tier and IP indemnity on a paid plan

    Free plan
    From $19/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthlyChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Coding

    Cursor

    AI code editor whose plans share a usage pool, from a limited free plan to Ultra.

    Best for: Developers who want an AI-first editor and will manage a shared usage pool

    Free plan
    From $8/mo (currency not named), billed monthlyChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Coding

    Devin

    Autonomous software engineer with cloud agents, plus a free desktop editor.

    Best for: Teams that want to delegate engineering tasks to cloud agents that return pull requests

    Free plan
    From $20/mo (currency not named), billing frequency not statedChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • AI coding assistant in your editor, on GitHub and in the CLI, with a free plan.

    Best for: Developers who want AI completions and chat inside VS Code, JetBrains and GitHub

    Free plan
    From $10/mo, billing frequency not statedChecked 21 Oct 2026

Recommendations by need

Chosen from published plan details. Not hands-on tested, and not influenced by affiliate status.

A free plan with stated monthly limits across many editors

GitHub Copilot

Free lists 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, and Copilot supports VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse and Xcode.

A free tier now and IP indemnity on the paid plan

Amazon Q Developer

The Free Tier lists 50 agentic requests a month, and Pro at $19 per user a month lists IP indemnity.

Cloud agents that return pull requests

Devin

Pro at $20 a month adds Devin Cloud, and the free desktop plan lists unlimited Tab completions.

An AI-first editor with a low-cost introductory plan

Cursor

Plans start at a limited free plan and an $8 introductory plan, with usage drawn from a shared pool.

Free plans, costs and data in this category

Free tiers meter different things: Copilot lists 2,000 inline completions and 50 chat requests a month, Amazon Q Developer lists 50 agentic requests a month, and Cursor and Devin list limited requests or quotas without exact counts. Heavier use can draw on paid credits.

Counted from our records of the 4 tools here: 4 have a confirmed free plan, 0 offer only a free trial, 3 price per seat, 4 meter credits or usage, and 3 show prices without naming the currency.

Cost and billing warnings

  • GitHub Copilot's page says heavier use draws down AI credits at $0.01 each.
  • Cursor says third-party model usage is billed separately on paid plans and prices exclude taxes.
  • Devin, Amazon Q Developer and Cursor show "$" without naming the currency; Copilot names USD.
  • Exact request limits are not stated for several plans.

Privacy, data and licensing questions

  • Your code may be sent to a third party. Check your employer's or client's rules first.
  • Read each vendor's data terms for the plan you will use, including whether code is used for training.
  • Amazon Q Developer's free tier lists no IP indemnity, and Copilot's page lists none on individual plans. This is not legal advice.
  • Review generated code for licences and secrets before it is merged.

We have not verified any vendor's data handling and do not give legal advice. See the privacy review checklist.

Best first steps before paying

  1. Choose a repository you may share, with passing tests.
  2. Give each assistant the same small task, such as a unit test for a documented bug.
  3. Record whether tests pass, whether the diff stayed in scope and how long review took.
  4. Count the requests used against the free allowance.

Go deeper: Coding assistant for an existing repo (guide); Free plan, trial or credits: which is it? (guide); Test an AI tool before buying annually (guide); Use a coding assistant on an existing repo (workflow); Copilot vs Amazon Q Developer: terms compared (comparison);cost planner.

What to look for

Usage metering

Look for fixed limits (for example completions and chat requests a month), credit pools, or allowances that refresh daily and weekly. A low sticker price can hide usage-based extras.

Data and IP terms

Check whether prompts can be used for training and whether IP indemnity is included. Amazon Q Developer lists indemnity on Pro; GitHub lists it as not included on individual Copilot plans.

Where it runs

Some tools plug into many editors and IDEs, while others are their own editor. Check that your editor or CLI is supported before you commit.

Completions versus agents

Completion tools help as you type. Agents work on a whole task and return changes for review. You will still need to read and test what they produce.

Comparisons in this category

Guides for this decision

Other categories: AI 3D tools, AI app and website builders, AI assistants, AI automation tools, AI image tools, AI music tools, AI presentation tools, AI research tools, AI video tools, AI voice and audio tools, AI writing and document tools, AI customer support, AI cybersecurity tools, AI data analysis, AI design tools, AI education tools, AI finance operations, AI HR tools, AI meeting note-takers, AI model platforms, AI sales and CRM, AI translation tools.