Verdict
Can you test HeyGen's avatar video properly on the free plan?
HeyGen's free plan allows 3 videos a month of up to 1 minute each. Paid plans share a monthly credit pool.
Who should consider it. Consider it for a no-card start, voice cloning from Creator, and 175+ languages on paid tiers.
Start here: first steps with HeyGen
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested HeyGen, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Creators and small businesses testing avatar video without a card.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Make avatar videos", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A solo creator testing short one-minute avatar clips on the free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone making videos longer than 1 minute on the free plan: Free caps videos at 1 minute (paid plans allow 30 minutes, Business 60).
- Buyers who want annual prices for Pro or Business: the page does not state them.
Alternatives: Synthesia, Runway. Reasons to switch.
What HeyGen actually does
- Creates videos presented by AI avatars from a script.
- Translates video into other languages with lip-sync.
- Creator and above add voice cloning.
- Pro adds 4K export and faster processing. Business adds SSO/SAML, centralised billing and SCORM export.
- Offers a developer API (REST, CLI and MCP server).
Source: HeyGen pricing page (opens in a new tab), HeyGen developer documentation (opens in a new tab).
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A solo creator testing short one-minute avatar clips on the free plan.
- A marketing team localising a video into many languages (Creator and above list 175+).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone making videos longer than 1 minute on the free plan: Free caps videos at 1 minute (paid plans allow 30 minutes, Business 60).
- Buyers who want annual prices for Pro or Business: the page does not state them.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Localise a short product video
Outcome: The same video in a second language with lip-sync
- Write the script and generate the video with an avatar.
- Use lip-sync translation to produce another language.
- Review the translation with a native speaker.
- Export at 1080p on Creator or above.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Free plan needs no credit card
- Plan limits for video length and export quality are stated
- Credit rollover is documented
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Credits expire on cancellation
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar
Free trial
Not statedNo separate paid-plan trial is described; the free plan includes limited access to premium features.
Cheapest paid plan
CreatorFrom $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 5 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| 3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar |
| Creator |
| 600 credits per month; videos up to 30 minutes; 1080p |
| Pro |
| 1,000 credits at the base tier; videos up to 30 minutes; 4K |
| Business |
| 1,500 credits; videos up to 60 minutes; 5 custom avatars |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | No limits listed |
How usage is counted
- Free: 3 videos a month of up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar, 30+ languages.
- Paid plans share a monthly credit pool. The credit cost per video depends on the model, length and complexity and is not published.
- Creator lists 175+ languages, 1080p export and credit rollover. Business allows videos up to 60 minutes and 5 custom avatars.
- Pricing model
- Credits
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · developers.heygen.com documents avatars, voices, Video Agent, translation and lipsync APIs. The docs do not say which plans include API access.
- Pricing checked
- 20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- Per the FAQ, Pro credit tiers run from 1,000 credits at $49 to 100,000 credits at $4,300 per month; tiers in between are not priced on the page.
- Monthly subscribers' unused credits roll over for one month; annual subscribers' credits accumulate until renewal.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Synthesia
Reason to consider it: A free allowance measured in video minutes (about 10 a month) and a published credit-per-minute estimate.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Runway
Reason to consider it: Prompt-generated clips rather than avatar presenters.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Frequently asked questions
Does HeyGen have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar.
How much does HeyGen cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Creator: from $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.
Does HeyGen have an API?
Yes. developers.heygen.com documents avatars, voices, Video Agent, translation and lipsync APIs. The docs do not say which plans include API access.
Can I use HeyGen output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| HeyGen pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, limits, credits | 20 Oct 2026 |
| HeyGen developer documentation (opens in a new tab) | Existence and scope of the API | 20 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Credit cost per video
- Annual prices for Pro and Business
- Refund policy
- Commercial-use terms
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
- Logo credit: HeyGen symbol, downloaded unmodified from the official brand kit. HeyGen is a trademark of its owner. Brand terms (opens in a new tab) checked 21 Oct 2026. Downloaded from the vendor brand kit. Terms: use only under its guidelines, no alteration, no implied sponsorship or endorsement without written permission, and HeyGen may revoke or change permission at any time. Used unaltered to identify the tool.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added the vendor-provided logo after reading its brand terms.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.