Verdict
Is Runway worth starting on the free credits if you want prompt-to-video clips?
Runway sells credits: a free plan with 125 one-time credits, then Standard ($12 to $15), Pro ($28 to $35) and Max ($76 to $95) a month.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you want prompt-to-video generation and an API.
Start here: first steps with Runway
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Runway, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Creators generating short video clips from prompts.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Generate video clips", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 125 one-time credits; 5GB storage.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A creator testing prompts on the 125 free credits.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Teams that need to know seat limits: they are not stated on the page.
- Anyone who relies on credit rollover below Max: only Max rolls over, for one month.
Alternatives: HeyGen, Synthesia. Reasons to switch.
What Runway actually does
- Generates short video clips from prompts and can transform existing video.
- Standard adds music, voice and sound effects. Pro adds a voice clone and unlimited 4K upscaling. Max adds up to 3 voice clones and HDR and ProRes outputs.
- Runway Dev offers an API with Node and Python SDKs for adding its models to your own apps.
Source: Runway pricing page (opens in a new tab), Runway developer docs (opens in a new tab).
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A creator testing prompts on the 125 free credits.
- A developer integrating generation through the API.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Teams that need to know seat limits: they are not stated on the page.
- Anyone who relies on credit rollover below Max: only Max rolls over, for one month.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Prototype a short clip
Outcome: A short generated clip you can review
- Write a prompt describing the shot.
- Generate it (Standard allows 5 parallel generations).
- Pick the best result and upscale it (Standard lists 4K upscaling).
- Add music or voice on Standard or above.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Free plan is described as free forever
- Annual savings are stated per plan
- Extra credits never expire (1,000-credit minimum purchase)
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Free credits are a one-time grant of 125
- Standard and Pro credits do not roll over
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan125 one-time credits; 5GB storage
Free trial
Not statedNo trial beyond the Free plan is described.
Cheapest paid plan
StandardFrom $12/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $15 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| 125 one-time credits; 5GB storage |
| Standard |
| 625 credits per month; 5 parallel generations; up to 3 projects; no watermarks; 20GB storage |
| Pro |
| 2,250 credits per month; 15 parallel generations; up to 5 projects; 100GB storage |
| Max |
| 9,500 credits per month; 20 parallel generations; up to 10 projects; one-month credit rollover; 500GB storage |
How usage is counted
- Credits: 125 one-time on Free; 625, 2,250 and 9,500 a month on Standard, Pro and Max.
- Parallel generations: 5, 15 and 20. Projects: 3, 5 and 10.
- Standard and Pro credits do not roll over; Max rolls over for one month. Extra credits never expire (1,000 minimum purchase).
- Pricing model
- Credits
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · Runway Dev documents video models, Node and Python SDKs, and self-serve usage tiers.
- Pricing checked
- 20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page mentions an Enterprise offer tied to a 10/31 sign-up date; no Enterprise pricing is stated.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
HeyGen
Reason to consider it: Avatar-presenter videos with a free plan that needs no card.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Synthesia
Reason to consider it: Script-to-presenter video with a free Basic plan.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Descript
Reason to consider it: An editor for footage you already have.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: Descript is also listed under ai-voice-audio.
invideo AI
Reason to consider it: Credit-based AI video with a timeline editor, sold per seat.
- Free access: invideo AI is "paid only"; Runway is "free plan".
- API: invideo AI not verified; Runway documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for invideo AI but not for Runway: web.
Frequently asked questions
Does Runway have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 125 one-time credits; 5GB storage.
How much does Runway cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Standard: from $12/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $15 (currency not named) month-to-month. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.
Does Runway have an API?
Yes. Runway Dev documents video models, Node and Python SDKs, and self-serve usage tiers.
Can I use Runway output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Runway pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, credits, limits | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Runway developer docs (opens in a new tab) | Existence and scope of the API | 20 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Free-plan resolution and project limits
- Seat limits
- Refund policy
- Commercial-use terms
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
- Logo credit: Runway symbol, downloaded unmodified from the official logo pack. Runway is a trademark of its owner. Brand terms (opens in a new tab) checked 21 Oct 2026. Downloaded from the vendor logo pack; the download button states that downloading means accepting the applicable guidelines and terms. Guidelines: black on light backgrounds, minimum 24px height, symbol only where the wordmark will not fit, no alteration. Used unaltered to identify the tool.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added the vendor-provided logo after reading its brand terms.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.