AI assistants

ChatGPT

General-purpose AI assistant with a free plan and Go, Plus and Pro tiers.

Verdict

Can ChatGPT's free plan cover everyday assistant use, and when do the paid plans matter?

The Free plan offers unlimited text chats (subject to abuse guardrails) with limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access. Go, Plus and Pro raise those limits, and Plus adds projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTs.

Who should consider it. Consider it if you want one assistant for text, images, voice and files and want to try the free plan first.

Start here: first steps with ChatGPT

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested ChatGPT, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Everyday writing, analysis and questions on web, iOS and Android.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Get general AI assistance", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: Someone who wants a free assistant for everyday questions and short drafts.
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • People who need unlimited image creation or voice: those are limited on Free and Go and described as unlimited only on Pro.
  • Anyone who wants to avoid advertising: the page says the Go plan may include ads.

Alternatives: Claude, Gemini. Reasons to switch.

What ChatGPT actually does

  • Answers questions and drafts text in unlimited text chats, subject to abuse guardrails.
  • Handles file uploads, image creation, voice chats and deep research, with limits that depend on the plan.
  • Plus adds projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTs. Pro adds a choice of three usage tiers and longer Codex and ChatGPT Work sessions.
  • Runs on the web, iOS and Android, with a desktop app listed for ChatGPT Work.

Source: ChatGPT pricing page (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • Someone who wants a free assistant for everyday questions and short drafts.
  • A professional who needs deep research, projects and scheduled tasks (Plus).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • People who need unlimited image creation or voice: those are limited on Free and Go and described as unlimited only on Pro.
  • Anyone who wants to avoid advertising: the page says the Go plan may include ads.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Turn rough notes into a follow-up email

Outcome: A reviewed email plus a list of action items

  1. Paste your meeting notes into a chat.
  2. Ask for a short follow-up email in your usual tone.
  3. Ask for the action items as a separate list with owners where the notes name them.
  4. Check names, dates and commitments against your notes before sending.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Unlimited text chats on every plan, subject to abuse guardrails
  • Available on web, iOS and Android
  • The comparison table spells out which features are limited or expanded on each plan

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • The free plan limits uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access
  • The Go plan may include ads

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Free plan

Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access

Free trial

Not stated

No free trial is described for the paid plans.

Cheapest paid plan

Go

From ₹399/mo, billing frequency not stated

Show all 4 plans and limits
ChatGPT plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Free Free
  • Free
Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access
Go
  • ₹399/mo, billing frequency not stated
More messages with tools, uploads, image creation and voice chats; longer memory; may include ads
Plus
  • ₹1,999/mo, billing frequency not stated
Expanded messages, uploads, deep research and memory; projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTs
Pro
  • ₹10,699/mo, billing frequency not stated (The page says "From": three usage tiers are offered)
Three usage tiers; maximum deep research and memory; unlimited image creation (abuse guardrails apply)

How usage is counted

  • Free: limited uploads, image creation, voice chats, deep research, memory and Codex access.
  • Go: more messages with tools, uploads, image creation and voice chats, and longer memory.
  • Plus: expanded messages, uploads, deep research, memory and Codex usage. Pro: everything in Plus with three usage tiers, maximum deep research and memory, and unlimited image creation (subject to abuse guardrails).
Pricing model
Flat tiers
Currency
INR (shown by the vendor for the region we checked)
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Not confirmed · The pricing page covers ChatGPT subscriptions only. API access and billing are separate products and were not reviewed.
Pricing checked
21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Prices are shown in Indian rupees for the region we checked. Other regions list different prices and currencies.
  • The page lists prices "per month" and does not say whether a different billing interval exists.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

Claude

Reason to consider it: Free plan includes web search, file creation, code execution, memory and Artifacts, within a rolling five-hour usage window instead of unlimited text chats.

  • API: Claude documented; ChatGPT not verified.
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Platforms documented for Claude but not for ChatGPT: browser-extension.

Compare ChatGPT with Claude

Gemini

Reason to consider it: Free plan bundles Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems and image generation, and works inside Gmail and Docs.

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare ChatGPT with Gemini

Perplexity

Reason to consider it: Answers carry inline citations, which helps when you need to check sources.

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Different category focus: Perplexity is also listed under ai-research.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.

Compare ChatGPT with Perplexity

Compare ChatGPT with Claude and Gemini

Frequently asked questions

Does ChatGPT have a free plan?

Yes. The free plan lists: Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access.

How much does ChatGPT cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Go: from ₹399/mo, billing frequency not stated. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.

Does ChatGPT have an API?

We could not confirm this from an official page. The pricing page covers ChatGPT subscriptions only. API access and billing are separate products and were not reviewed.

Can I use ChatGPT output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
ChatGPT pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, limits, platforms; prices seen in Indian rupees21 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Prices outside India
  • Whether any paid plan has a free trial
  • Plan-specific data-training terms
  • Refund policy

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
  • 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.