AI assistants

Claude

AI assistant with a free plan, Pro and Max tiers, and team seats.

Verdict

Is Claude's free plan enough to try before paying, and what do Pro, Max and Team add?

The Free plan covers chat with Sonnet and Haiku, web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors and Artifacts, within a rolling five-hour usage window. Pro starts at $17 a month on annual billing, with at least 5x the usage per session and access to Opus.

Who should consider it. Consider it if you work with long documents or uploaded files and want to start free.

Start here: first steps with Claude

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Claude, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Drafting, analysis and file-based work, with Artifacts and web search.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Get general AI assistance", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: A researcher or analyst working through long documents or uploaded files.
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
  • Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Anyone who needs Claude Code, Research or Claude in Chrome without paying: the page says the Free plan excludes them.
  • Anyone who needs fixed message counts: the page publishes none.

Alternatives: ChatGPT, Gemini. Reasons to switch.

What Claude actually does

  • Answers questions, drafts and analyses text in chat on web, desktop and mobile.
  • Works with uploaded files, creates files, runs code, searches the web and keeps memory.
  • The Free plan also lists Artifacts, connectors, up to 5 projects, and Claude Design, Slides and Docs.
  • Paid plans add more usage and models (Opus from Pro) and list Claude in Chrome, Microsoft 365 and Outlook integrations.

Source: Claude pricing page (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • A researcher or analyst working through long documents or uploaded files.
  • A small team that wants shared seats with no model training on its content by default (Team).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Anyone who needs Claude Code, Research or Claude in Chrome without paying: the page says the Free plan excludes them.
  • Anyone who needs fixed message counts: the page publishes none.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Summarise a long report and list open questions

Outcome: A short summary with the report's key figures and questions to ask the author

  1. Upload the report to a chat (file uploads are listed on Free).
  2. Ask for a one-page summary and the key figures with the page they come from.
  3. Ask for a list of questions the report leaves open.
  4. Check each figure against the source before you share the summary.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • The Free plan includes web search, file creation, code execution, memory and Artifacts
  • Team plans state no model training on content by default
  • Annual billing on Pro and Team is priced openly

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • Free usage is limited and resets in rolling five-hour windows
  • Model training on consumer plans (Free, Pro, Max) is listed as opt-out
  • Max is billed monthly only

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Free plan

Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included

Free trial

Not stated

No free trial is stated for any consumer or Team plan.

Cheapest paid plan

Pro

From $17/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-month

Show all 6 plans and limits
Claude plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Free Free
  • Free
Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included
Pro
  • $17/mo (currency not named), billed annually ($200 billed up front)
  • $20/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
At least 5x the usage of Free per session; Opus, Sonnet and Haiku; usage credits included
Max
  • $100/mo (currency not named), billed monthly (From $100 a month; Max is billed monthly only)
5x or 20x the usage of Pro; includes $100 or $200 a month in API credits; the 20x tier's own price is not stated
Team Standard seat
  • $20/seat/mo (currency not named), billed annually
  • $25/seat/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
2 to 150 seats; more usage than Pro; up to $500 a month in pooled API credits; no model training on content by default
Team Premium seat
  • $100/seat/mo (currency not named), billed annually
  • $125/seat/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
5x the usage of a Standard seat; seat types can be mixed
EnterpriseCustom pricing (contact sales)The page lists US$20 per seat plus usage at API rates, billed annually with a 20-seat minimum

How usage is counted

  • Limits reset on a rolling five-hour window, and paid plans add weekly limits. Usage is shared across web, desktop, mobile and Claude Code.
  • Pro: at least 5x more usage per five-hour session than Free. Max: 5x or 20x the usage of Pro, from $100 a month.
  • Max includes $100 or $200 a month in API credits (5x and 20x). Team Standard seats pool up to $500 a month in API credits across the team.
Pricing model
Flat tiers, Per seat or user
Currency
Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Yes · Max and Team plans include monthly API credits, and Claude Code can use pay-as-you-go API credits through a Console account.
Pricing checked
21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • The consumer and Team prices show "$" only. The Enterprise section names "US$".

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

ChatGPT

Reason to consider it: Free plan lists unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply) with limited uploads, images and voice.

  • API: ChatGPT not verified; Claude documented.
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Claude with ChatGPT

Gemini

Reason to consider it: Free plan adds Deep Research, Gemini Live, image generation and Gems, and works inside Google apps.

  • API: Gemini not verified; Claude documented.
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Claude with Gemini

Perplexity

Reason to consider it: Built around answers with inline citations, with a Pro plan at US$17 a month on annual billing.

  • API: Perplexity not verified; Claude documented.
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
  • Different category focus: Perplexity is also listed under ai-research.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.

Compare Claude with Perplexity

Compare Claude with ChatGPT and Gemini

Frequently asked questions

Does Claude have a free plan?

Yes. The free plan lists: Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included.

How much does Claude cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $17/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.

Does Claude have an API?

Yes. Max and Team plans include monthly API credits, and Claude Code can use pay-as-you-go API credits through a Console account.

Can I use Claude output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Claude pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, prices, limits, models, platforms, data-training notes21 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • The currency of consumer and Team prices (the page shows "$" only)
  • Max 20x's separate price
  • Whether any plan has a free trial
  • Commercial-use terms beyond the data-training notes

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
  • 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.