Verdict
Is Perplexity Pro worth US$17 a month for citation-backed research?
Pro is listed at US$17 a month (equivalent, billed annually) and Max at US$167. Both build on a free plan and add expanded Computer access, deep research, a choice of AI models and higher limits.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you research topics where checking sources matters more than long conversational drafting.
Start here: first steps with Perplexity
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Perplexity, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Researching questions where inline citations to sources matter.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Research with sources", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial use, as we recorded it: The page says Pro and Max are for personal use only and subject to Perplexity's policies. Enterprise is a separate plan.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: The page lists Pro as "everything in Free and" more; the free plan's own limits are not stated.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A student or analyst who wants every answer tied to a source they can open.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs to know the free plan's limits before signing up: the page does not publish them.
- Teams buying shared seats: the page says Pro and Max are for personal use only, and Enterprise is a separate plan.
Alternatives: Elicit, ChatGPT. Reasons to switch.
What Perplexity actually does
- Answers questions with inline citations from sources, so you can check claims.
- Lets you select between AI models; the page lists models from OpenAI, Google, Anthropic, Moonshot AI, Z.ai and xAI.
- Runs deep research, and "Computer", which builds polished documents, apps and tools from a prompt.
- Max adds maximum Computer usage, expert-level research and the highest limits and memory.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A student or analyst who wants every answer tied to a source they can open.
- A consultant comparing several AI models on the same research question.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs to know the free plan's limits before signing up: the page does not publish them.
- Teams buying shared seats: the page says Pro and Max are for personal use only, and Enterprise is a separate plan.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Build a sourced market snapshot
Outcome: A short briefing with links to the sources behind each claim
- Ask a specific question about the market, such as which segments grew fastest in a given year.
- Open the cited sources behind each key claim.
- Ask a follow-up to compare two segments.
- Keep only the claims you could verify in the sources.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Every answer includes inline citations, according to the vendor
- Plan prices are stated in US dollars
- A choice of several AI models on paid plans
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- No numeric free-plan limits are published on the pricing page
- Pro and Max are for personal use only per the vendor
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planThe page lists Pro as "everything in Free and" more; the free plan's own limits are not stated
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $17/mo, billed annually
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| The page lists Pro as "everything in Free and" more; the free plan's own limits are not stated |
| Pro |
| Expanded Computer access; 4,000 bonus credits; deep research; choice of AI models; more usage limits and memory |
| Max |
| Maximum Computer usage; 10,000 monthly credits; 35,000 bonus credits; highest limits and memory |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | No limits listed |
How usage is counted
- Pro: expanded Computer access, 4,000 bonus credits, deep research and more usage and memory.
- Max: 10,000 monthly credits, 35,000 bonus credits, maximum Computer usage and priority access to new features.
- A limited-time promotion adds US$40 of free Computer credits on Pro and US$450 on Max. It is not part of the standard price.
- Pricing model
- Flat tiers
- Currency
- USD (shown by the vendor for the region we checked)
- Commercial use
- The page says Pro and Max are for personal use only and subject to Perplexity's policies. Enterprise is a separate plan.
- API
- Not confirmed · The pricing page does not cover an API.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- A limited-time promotion adds free Computer credits (US$40 on Pro, US$450 on Max). It is not included in the prices above.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Elicit
Reason to consider it: Built for academic papers: its free plan lists unlimited search across 138 million papers, and Pro adds systematic-review screening.
- API: Elicit documented; Perplexity not verified.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.
ChatGPT
Reason to consider it: A general assistant with deep research on higher plans and unlimited text chats on Free.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: ChatGPT is also listed under ai-assistants.
- Platforms documented for ChatGPT but not for Perplexity: web, ios, android, desktop.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.
Claude
Reason to consider it: Free plan includes web search and file uploads; stronger fit for long-document analysis than for citation-first answers.
- API: Claude documented; Perplexity not verified.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: Claude is also listed under ai-assistants.
- Platforms documented for Claude but not for Perplexity: web, desktop, ios, android, browser-extension.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.
Frequently asked questions
Does Perplexity have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: The page lists Pro as "everything in Free and" more; the free plan's own limits are not stated.
How much does Perplexity cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $17/mo, billed annually. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Perplexity have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. The pricing page does not cover an API.
Can I use Perplexity output commercially?
The page says Pro and Max are for personal use only and subject to Perplexity's policies. Enterprise is a separate plan.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Perplexity Pro page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices (US$), features, models | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Free-plan limits
- Month-to-month prices
- Whether a free trial exists
- The Perplexity API (not covered on the page)
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.