AI assistants

General AI assistants answer questions, draft text and work with files. The differences that matter are rarely the model names: they are how much the free plan allows, how usage is capped, which apps the assistant works inside, and how your content is used.

These entries come from official plan pages. Some pages showed prices in a local currency such as rupees for the region we checked, so prices are listed in the currency shown and never compared across currencies.

Compare plans and tradeoffs

Documented plan details, listed alphabetically. Free-plan availability does not mean every feature is included. Compare confirmed free plans across categories.

Scroll sideways in the table to compare prices and tradeoffs.

AI assistants: free limits, pricing and tradeoffs
ToolFree planPaid entry priceMain tradeoff
ChatGPTChecked 21 Oct 2026Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex accessFrom ₹399/mo, billing frequency not statedUploads, image creation, voice and deep research are limited on Free, and the page says the Go plan may include ads.
ClaudeChecked 21 Oct 2026Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not includedFrom $17/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-monthUsage is capped per rolling five-hour window (with weekly limits on paid plans), and no fixed message counts are published.
GeminiChecked 21 Oct 2026Flash-Lite model; image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, Gemini Notebook; limited Flow access; 15 GB storageFrom ₹399/mo, billed monthlyUsage on paid plans is stated as multiples of the free plan, not as fixed limits, and the plans are bundled with storage and other Google services.
Microsoft 365 CopilotChecked 21 Oct 2026Not confirmedFrom $21/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $25.20 (currency not named) month-to-monthIt is an add-on to a Microsoft 365 licence, not a standalone product, and some advanced features are billed separately as Copilot Credits.

4 tools researched

Filter and sort
  • Assistants

    ChatGPT

    General-purpose AI assistant with a free plan and Go, Plus and Pro tiers.

    Best for: Everyday writing, analysis and questions on web, iOS and Android

    Free plan
    From ₹399/mo, billing frequency not statedChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Assistants

    Claude

    AI assistant with a free plan, Pro and Max tiers, and team seats.

    Best for: Drafting, analysis and file-based work, with Artifacts and web search

    Free plan
    From $17/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyor $20 (currency not named) month-to-monthChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Assistants

    Gemini

    Google's AI assistant, free with a Google account, with paid Google AI plans.

    Best for: People in the Google ecosystem who want Deep Research, Gemini Live and image tools

    Free plan
    From ₹399/mo, billed monthlyChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Copilot inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams for Microsoft 365 users.

    Best for: Organisations already on Microsoft 365 that want an assistant inside Office apps

    Free trial
    From $21/user/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyor $25.20 (currency not named) month-to-monthChecked 21 Oct 2026

Recommendations by need

Chosen from published plan details. Not hands-on tested, and not influenced by affiliate status.

A free plan with unlimited text chats

ChatGPT

The free plan lists unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply), with limited uploads, image creation, voice and deep research.

A free plan that bundles research and image tools inside Google apps

Gemini

The free plan lists Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems and image generation, and the assistant works inside Google apps.

A free plan with web search, file creation and code execution

Claude

The free plan lists these, with usage that resets in rolling five-hour windows.

An assistant inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook for Microsoft 365 teams

Microsoft 365 Copilot

The add-on lists $21 per user a month on annual billing and requires an eligible Microsoft 365 Business plan.

What to look for

Free-plan usage

Look at whether the free plan caps messages, uploads, image creation or research, and how the cap resets. Claude's resets in rolling five-hour windows, while ChatGPT lists unlimited text chats with limits elsewhere.

Where it works

Some assistants live inside other products: Microsoft 365 Copilot in Office apps, Gemini in Gmail and Docs. If you already pay for that suite, the in-app assistant may be the shorter path.

Data use

Plans differ on whether your content can be used for training and whether you can opt out. Read the plan-specific terms before putting work documents in.

Seats and billing

Team seats are usually cheaper on annual billing. Check the minimum seat count and whether prices are per seat or pooled.

Other categories: AI 3D tools, AI app and website builders, AI automation tools, AI coding tools, AI image tools, AI music tools, AI presentation tools, AI research tools, AI video tools, AI voice and audio tools, AI writing and document tools, AI customer support, AI cybersecurity tools, AI data analysis, AI design tools, AI education tools, AI finance operations, AI HR tools, AI meeting note-takers, AI model platforms, AI sales and CRM, AI translation tools.