Verdict
Can Elicit's free plan handle literature searches, and when are the systematic-review features worth $49 a month?
The free Basic plan lists unlimited search across 138 million papers, unlimited summaries and unlimited chat with full-text papers, with limited Research Agent and Reports usage. Pro adds a systematic-review workflow that screens 5,000 papers and extracts 20 columns at a time.
Who should consider it. Consider it for literature reviews where you need to screen many papers and pull structured data from them.
Start here: first steps with Elicit
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Elicit, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Searching and extracting data from academic papers, including systematic reviews.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Research academic papers", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Limited Research Agent and Reports usage; unlimited search across 138 million papers, summaries and chat with full-text papers; Zotero import.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A graduate student scoping a literature review on the free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs everyday web research rather than academic papers: the product is built around papers.
- Anyone who needs to know the free plan's numeric report limits: the page does not give them.
Alternatives: Perplexity, ChatGPT. Reasons to switch.
What Elicit actually does
- Searches 138 million papers, summarises them and lets you chat with full-text papers.
- Imports papers from Zotero and lets you view the sources behind each answer.
- Runs a Research Agent and Reports that extract data from up to 135 sources on Pro (200 on Scale).
- Provides a systematic literature review workflow that screens papers and extracts data into columns.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A graduate student scoping a literature review on the free plan.
- A research team screening thousands of papers for a systematic review (Pro or Scale).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs everyday web research rather than academic papers: the product is built around papers.
- Anyone who needs to know the free plan's numeric report limits: the page does not give them.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Scope a literature review
Outcome: A shortlist of relevant papers with extracted key details
- Search for your research question and read the paper summaries.
- Save the relevant papers, or import a set from Zotero.
- Extract the details you care about into columns (for example sample size and method).
- Open the source text for any extracted value you plan to cite.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Free plan lists unlimited paper search, summaries and chat with full-text papers
- Plan limits for papers screened and columns extracted are stated
- Zotero import and source viewing are listed
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Research Agent and Reports usage is limited on the free plan
- Paid plans are priced per user ($49 and $169 a month)
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planLimited Research Agent and Reports usage; unlimited search across 138 million papers, summaries and chat with full-text papers; Zotero import
Free trial
Not statedThe free plan has a "Try for free" button; trial terms are not stated.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $49/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Basic (free) Free |
| Limited Research Agent and Reports usage; unlimited search across 138 million papers, summaries and chat with full-text papers; Zotero import |
| Pro |
| Standard usage; systematic reviews screen 5,000 papers; 20 columns at a time; reports extract from up to 135 sources; API listed |
| Scale |
| 5x usage; 30 columns at a time; up to 200 sources per report; figure extraction; collaboration; admin panel |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Screens 40,000 papers and extracts 40 columns; SSO/SAML; unlimited API access |
How usage is counted
- Pro: standard usage of the Research Agent, Reports and systematic reviews; screens 5,000 papers; 20 columns at a time.
- Scale: 5x usage; 30 columns at a time; figure extraction, real-time collaboration and an admin panel.
- Enterprise: screens 40,000 papers and extracts 40 columns, with PRISMA-grade accuracy and SSO/SAML.
- Pricing model
- Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · API access is listed on Pro and Enterprise (Enterprise: unlimited). Scale's inclusion is not stated.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page shows annual-billing prices per user per month. A month-to-month price is not stated.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Perplexity
Reason to consider it: Broader web research with inline citations, rather than extraction of data from academic papers.
- API: Perplexity not verified; Elicit documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Perplexity only.
ChatGPT
Reason to consider it: A general assistant with deep research and file uploads, without a paper-screening workflow.
- API: ChatGPT not verified; Elicit documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: ChatGPT is also listed under ai-assistants.
- Platforms documented for ChatGPT but not for Elicit: web, ios, android, desktop.
Frequently asked questions
Does Elicit have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: Limited Research Agent and Reports usage; unlimited search across 138 million papers, summaries and chat with full-text papers; Zotero import.
How much does Elicit cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $49/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Elicit have an API?
Yes. API access is listed on Pro and Enterprise (Enterprise: unlimited). Scale's inclusion is not stated.
Can I use Elicit output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
- Compare ai research tools
- Elicit vs Consensus: research tools compared
- Guide: Why is my AI summary inaccurate?
- Guide: Web research vs document research tools
- Workflow: Create a first marketing content workflow
- Workflow: Turn research notes into a presentation
- Explore AI tools with confirmed free plans
- Understand AI pricing, credits and billing commitments
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Elicit pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, paper and extraction limits, features | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- The currency (the page shows "$" only)
- Numeric free-plan report and extraction limits
- Whether a free trial exists
- Whether Scale includes API access
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.