Verdict
Is Fathom's free plan the simplest way to record and summarise calls at no cost?
Fathom's free plan lists unlimited recordings and transcriptions with instant AI call summaries. Paid plans add advanced summaries, team search and CRM sync.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you take many calls and want to start free.
Start here: first steps with Fathom
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Fathom, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Freelancers and sales teams who want unlimited free call recording.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Transcribe meetings", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Unlimited recordings and transcriptions.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A freelance consultant recording client calls on the free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Solo users who want team features: Team and Business require 2 users.
- Buyers who need SSO or SCIM without a sales call: they are listed on Enterprise (talk to sales).
Alternatives: Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai. Reasons to switch.
What Fathom actually does
- Records and transcribes calls and writes an instant AI summary.
- Premium adds more detailed summaries, AI action items, a conversational assistant and a custom meeting bot.
- Team adds search across calls, playlists, comments, folders and keyword alerts. Business adds CRM field sync, Deal View and coaching metrics.
- Offers an API with webhooks and Python and TypeScript SDKs.
Source: Fathom pricing page (opens in a new tab), Fathom developer docs (opens in a new tab).
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A freelance consultant recording client calls on the free plan.
- A sales team of two or more that needs CRM field sync (Business).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Solo users who want team features: Team and Business require 2 users.
- Buyers who need SSO or SCIM without a sales call: they are listed on Enterprise (talk to sales).
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Review a call and share a clip
Outcome: A shareable clip and summary from a customer call
- Record the call with Fathom.
- Read the instant AI summary.
- Clip the key moment and add it to a playlist.
- Share the clip with your team.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Free plan lists unlimited recordings and transcription
- All paid plans list a 90-day guarantee
- Monthly and annual prices are both shown
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Team and Business have a 2-user minimum
- Some "limited use" features are not mapped to plans clearly
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planUnlimited recordings and transcriptions
Free trial
YesPremium, Team and Business show a free trial. Length is not stated.
Cheapest paid plan
TeamFrom $15/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $19 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 5 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free (individuals) Free |
| Unlimited recordings and transcriptions |
| Premium (individuals) |
| No limits listed |
| Team |
| 2-user minimum |
| Business |
| 2-user minimum |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | No limits listed |
How usage is counted
- Free: unlimited recordings and transcriptions, instant AI summaries, clips and playlists.
- Team and Business plans need at least 2 users.
- All paid plans list a 90-day guarantee. Its terms are not stated.
- Pricing model
- Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · developers.fathom.ai documents API-key and OAuth authentication and webhooks. Plan requirements are not stated.
- Pricing checked
- 20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The Enterprise row also displayed "$34" next to "Talk to sales"; it is treated as custom here.
- Rechecked on 21 October 2026: the pricing page, its FAQ and its footnotes name no currency, so the "$" is shown as listed and never treated as USD.
- Team and Business list a 2-user minimum on the page. The page's Monthly/Annually toggle does not make clear which displayed figure belongs to which period, so the monthly and annual rates above are as recorded earlier.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Otter.ai
Reason to consider it: Itemised caps (300 free minutes a month) with longer conversation limits on paid tiers.
- API: Otter.ai not verified; Fathom documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Fireflies.ai
Reason to consider it: Per-seat plans with unlimited transcription on paid tiers and a documented API.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Frequently asked questions
Does Fathom have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: Unlimited recordings and transcriptions. A free trial is also offered. Premium, Team and Business show a free trial. Length is not stated.
How much does Fathom cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Team: from $15/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $19 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.
Does Fathom have an API?
Yes. developers.fathom.ai documents API-key and OAuth authentication and webhooks. Plan requirements are not stated.
Can I use Fathom output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
- Compare ai meeting note-takers
- Otter.ai vs Fathom: free plans and paid tiers compared
- Guide: Why is my AI summary inaccurate?
- Guide: Five AI workflows for a small business
- Guide: From call to a follow-up you can trust
- Guide: Seat costs and annual commitments, worked out
- Guide: Choosing a meeting note-taker on a free plan
- Workflow: Turn a meeting into a reviewed follow-up
- Explore AI tools with confirmed free plans
- Understand AI pricing, credits and billing commitments
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Fathom pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, features | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Fathom developer docs (opens in a new tab) | Existence of the API | 20 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Free-trial length
- Terms of the 90-day guarantee
- Which plans each "limited use" item applies to
- Currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Rechecked currency wording and billing basis on the official pricing page.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Rechecked currency wording and billing basis on the official pricing page.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.