Five AI workflows for a small business
By Give AI Tool · Research methodology
Published 21 Oct 2026
These workflows are illustrative. They are built from the vendors’ documented features and plan limits, and we have not run them. For each, we say what the plan needs and where a person must review the output.
1. Meeting to follow-up email
Record the call with a meeting note-taker (Fathom’s free plan lists unlimited recordings and instant AI summaries; Otter’s free Basic plan caps transcription at 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation). Ask an assistant to draft the follow-up from the notes. Check names, dates and commitments before sending. If you want a drafted reply handled for you, Lindy lists meeting follow-up and built-in approvals from $29.99 a month.
2. New enquiry to logged lead and team alert
Use an automation tool to log each new form entry and notify the team. Zapier’s free plan allows 100 tasks a month but only two-step Zaps, so a logging step plus an alert needs a paid plan or a simpler flow. Make’s free plan lists 1,000 credits a month, with most steps using one credit.
3. Product photo clean-up
Remove backgrounds and add a clean or AI background with Photoroom. Its plans list AI credits and exports per month (1,000 exports on Pro), and its pricing page showed no free plan. Check edges and shadows at full size before you publish.
4. Blog post to short marketing video
Pictory lists generating video from a script or URL on all plans, with a 14-day trial of 15 video minutes. Watch that the footage matches what the words say, and confirm the licence terms for stock footage, which the pricing page does not state.
5. Team documents and meeting notes in one place
Notion lists AI Meeting Notes and an agent on its Business plan ($20 per member), while Free and Plus show a limited AI trial. Decide whether your team needs that, or whether a free recorder is enough.
Common checks
- Free limits: work out your monthly volume before you rely on a free plan.
- Review: AI drafts and summaries need a person’s check, especially before anything is sent to a customer.
- Currency and billing: prices shown per month on annual billing are paid yearly.
Related tools
Meeting notes
Fathom
Meeting recorder whose free plan lists unlimited recordings and transcripts.
Best for: Freelancers and sales teams who want unlimited free call recording
From $15/user/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyor $19 (currency not named) month-to-monthChecked 20 Oct 2026Automation
Zapier
Workflow automation sold by monthly task volume, with a free plan.
Best for: Simple event-driven automations across apps, with a free plan to test
From $19.99/mo, billed annuallyor $29.99 month-to-monthChecked 21 Oct 2026Images
Photoroom
Product-photo editor for removing backgrounds and creating AI backgrounds, with an API.
Best for: Sellers who need clean product photos, background removal and AI backgrounds at volume
Paid pricing not verifiedChecked 21 Oct 2026Video
Pictory
Turns a script or URL into a video with stock footage and AI voices; 14-day trial.
Best for: Marketers turning scripts or web content into branded explainer videos
From $25/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyor $29 (currency not named) month-to-monthChecked 21 Oct 2026Writing & docs
Notion
Team workspace with AI agents and meeting notes on the Business plan; priced in USD.
Best for: Teams that keep documents and projects in one workspace and want AI inside it
From $10/user/mo, billing frequency not statedChecked 21 Oct 2026Automation
Lindy
AI teammate for email, meetings and follow-ups, with a Slack-native workflow and credit pricing.
Best for: Small teams that want an assistant to draft email replies and follow up after meetings
From $29.99/user/mo (currency not named), billed monthlyChecked 21 Oct 2026
Continue researching this task
More decision guides that cover the same tools or workflow. These are researched overviews unless a page says it includes hands-on testing.
Guide · Published 22 Oct 2026
Avoid unexpected AI software charges
Where surprise AI software bills come from, and a checklist to prevent them: renewals, overage, extra credits, seats, taxes and trials.
Guide · Published 22 Oct 2026
Test an AI tool before buying annually
A two-week pilot method for deciding whether to pay for an AI tool, with trial and refund terms several vendors state and a scorecard you can reuse.
Guide · Published 22 Oct 2026
Why AI tools use credits so quickly
Credits drain faster than expected for six common reasons. How to find which one applies to you, what the vendors' pages say and how to slow the drain.
This guide may link to tools with affiliate programs. Links are marked wherever they appear. Disclosure.