Verdict
How far do Ideogram's credits go, and which plan fits regular image work?
Plus is $20 a month ($15 on annual billing) with 2,400 priority credits, Pro is $60 ($42 annually) with 7,500, and Team is $30 per user ($20 annually) with 3,600 per user. Paid plans list unlimited slow credits.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you generate images regularly and want published per-image credit costs before you commit.
Start here: first steps with Ideogram
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Ideogram, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Image generation where you want to see the credit cost of each model and quality setting.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Generate images", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- No free plan or trial is confirmed. The cheapest paid plan with a recorded price is From $15/mo (currency not named), billed annually. If a monthly option exists, consider it for the first cycles.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A marketer who generates and resizes social ads.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Paying for a year before testing one real job.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs the free plan's limits before signing up: the pricing page does not label them.
- Anyone who wants flat per-image pricing: credit cost varies with the model and rendering setting.
Alternatives: Leonardo.Ai, Adobe Firefly. Reasons to switch.
What Ideogram actually does
- Generates images with several model versions (Ideogram 4.5, 4.0 and 3.0) at different rendering qualities.
- Provides apps for resizing ads, removing backgrounds, recolouring, swapping materials and removing objects.
- Offers API access with credit-based usage, an MCP server and an iPhone app.
- Team plans add seat-based billing, central billing and administration, and collaboration features.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A marketer who generates and resizes social ads.
- A team that wants shared credits and central billing.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs the free plan's limits before signing up: the pricing page does not label them.
- Anyone who wants flat per-image pricing: credit cost varies with the model and rendering setting.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Make a set of ad variants
Outcome: A set of ad images in the sizes you need
- Generate a few concept images at Low rendering to control credit use.
- Re-render the best concept at High quality.
- Use the Ad Resizer to produce the other sizes.
- Check any text in the images for errors before publishing.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Credit costs per image are published for each model and quality setting
- Both monthly and annual prices are listed
- An API and apps suite are listed with the plans
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Credit cost depends on model and rendering setting
- The free plan is not clearly labelled on the pricing page
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Not verifiedFree-plan availability has not been verified.
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
PlusFrom $15/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 5 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Plus |
| 2,400 priority credits a month; unlimited slow credits; up to 8 running and queued generations |
| Pro |
| 7,500 priority credits a month; unlimited slow credits; up to 32 running and queued generations |
| Team |
| 3,600 priority credits per user a month; seat-based billing; central billing and administration |
| Pay as you go | See limits | 1 cent per credit |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Postpaid with a custom credit amount |
How usage is counted
- Priority credits per month: 2,400 (Plus), 7,500 (Pro), 3,600 per user (Team). Paid plans list unlimited slow credits.
- Credit cost examples on Ideogram 4.5: 3 credits (Low), 6 (Medium) and 10 (High) per image. Model 4.0 (2K) costs 3, 6 or 10 credits per image by setting.
- Pay as you go costs 1 cent per credit. Running and queued generations are capped at 8 (Plus) and 32 (Pro).
- Pricing model
- Credits, Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · The pricing page lists API access with credit-based usage and an API tab.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The first column of the plan comparison table has no label, so a free plan is not confirmed.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Leonardo.Ai
Reason to consider it: A free plan of 150 tokens a day and paid plans from $12 a month, with an API on pay as you go.
- Free access: Leonardo.Ai is "free plan" (150 fast tokens a day; token bank of 150; public creations; basic quality settings; 1 personal collection); Ideogram is "free options not stated".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Adobe Firefly
Reason to consider it: US-dollar plans from $9.99 a month with stated commercial-use terms for Firefly models, and video and audio included.
- Free access: Adobe Firefly is "free plan" (Free daily generations across image, video and audio with access to some models; daily limits are not quantified); Ideogram is "free options not stated".
- API: Adobe Firefly not verified; Ideogram documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for Adobe Firefly but not for Ideogram: android.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Adobe Firefly only.
Recraft
Reason to consider it: States ownership terms by plan: paid plans grant commercial rights, and free-plan images are public.
- Free access: Recraft is "free plan" (Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated); Ideogram is "free options not stated".
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Recraft only.
Frequently asked questions
Does Ideogram have a free plan?
The vendor's pricing page does not say whether a free plan exists, so we cannot tell. Check the vendor directly. Whether a free trial exists is not stated.
How much does Ideogram cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Plus: from $15/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $20 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Ideogram have an API?
Yes. The pricing page lists API access with credit-based usage and an API tab.
Can I use Ideogram output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Ideogram pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, credits, credit costs per model, apps, API | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Free-plan limits
- Commercial-use terms per plan (the FAQ answer was not available)
- Which plans include each app
- Currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.