Verdict
Can you use Recraft images commercially, and does that depend on the plan?
Yes, but only on paid plans. The page says images from the Free plan are owned by Recraft, appear in the community gallery and are not licensed for commercial use, while Basic, Pro and Teams plans grant full ownership and commercial rights for images made while subscribed.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you need vector or brand-style images and want ownership terms stated by plan before you start.
Start here: first steps with Recraft
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Recraft, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Designers who need vector output and clear ownership terms for paid work.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Generate images", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial use, as we recorded it: The pricing page says paid plans (Basic, Pro, Teams) grant full ownership and commercial rights for images generated while subscribed, and you keep those rights after cancelling. Free-plan images are owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A designer who wants to try Recraft free and then move to a paid plan for client work.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone planning commercial work on the free plan: free-plan images are not licensed for commercial use.
- Anyone who needs plan prices from the page: none are stated there.
Alternatives: Ideogram, Leonardo.Ai. Reasons to switch.
What Recraft actually does
- Generates images and vector graphics, and edits images.
- Paid plans keep your images private and out of the community gallery, and you keep rights after cancelling.
- Teams workspaces share top-up credits across seats.
- An API covers image and vector generation, editing and other operations, billed in API Units bought separately.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A designer who wants to try Recraft free and then move to a paid plan for client work.
- A developer generating vector images through the API.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone planning commercial work on the free plan: free-plan images are not licensed for commercial use.
- Anyone who needs plan prices from the page: none are stated there.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Move from a free test to licensed client work
Outcome: A client-ready image made on a paid plan
- Test the style on the Free plan, knowing the images are public and not for commercial use.
- Choose a paid plan before making images for a client.
- Generate and edit the final image while subscribed.
- Keep a record of when the image was generated, since rights apply to images made while subscribed.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Ownership and commercial-use terms are stated by plan
- Paid-plan rights are kept after cancellation, per the page
- An API for image and vector generation is documented
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Free-plan images are public and not licensed for commercial use
- API Units are bought separately from subscription credits
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planImages are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
Not verifiedPaid pricing has not been verified for this overview.
Show all 2 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free | Free | Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated |
| Basic, Pro and Teams | See limits | Full ownership and commercial rights for images made while subscribed; private images; top-up credits; prices and credits not stated |
How usage is counted
- The pricing page names Free, Basic, Pro and Teams plans but does not list included credits.
- Top-up credits can be bought on Basic, Pro and Teams; API Units are separate from subscription credits.
- Pricing model
- Credits
- Currency
- Paid currency not verified
- Commercial use
- The pricing page says paid plans (Basic, Pro, Teams) grant full ownership and commercial rights for images generated while subscribed, and you keep those rights after cancelling. Free-plan images are owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use.
- API
- Yes · The page describes an API for image and vector generation, editing and other operations, billed in separate API Units.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page offers monthly billing or annual billing ("save 20%"). Prices are not stated.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Ideogram
Reason to consider it: Plan prices and per-image credit costs are published, from $20 a month ($15 annually).
- Free access: Ideogram is "free options not stated"; Recraft is "free plan".
- Platforms documented for Ideogram but not for Recraft: web, ios.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Recraft only.
Leonardo.Ai
Reason to consider it: A free daily allowance of 150 tokens and paid plans from $12 a month.
- Platforms documented for Leonardo.Ai but not for Recraft: web.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Recraft only.
Adobe Firefly
Reason to consider it: Commercial use of Firefly-model outputs is stated on the plans page, with plans from $9.99 a month.
- API: Adobe Firefly not verified; Recraft documented.
- Platforms documented for Adobe Firefly but not for Recraft: web, ios, android.
Frequently asked questions
Does Recraft have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated.
How much does Recraft cost?
We do not have a verified price to show. See the pricing section and check the vendor's page.
Does Recraft have an API?
Yes. The page describes an API for image and vector generation, editing and other operations, billed in separate API Units.
Can I use Recraft output commercially?
The pricing page says paid plans (Basic, Pro, Teams) grant full ownership and commercial rights for images generated while subscribed, and you keep those rights after cancelling. Free-plan images are owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Recraft pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plan names, ownership and commercial terms, billing options, API | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Plan prices and credits
- Free-plan credit limits
- Platforms
- Whether a trial exists
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.