Verdict
Is Microsoft 365 Copilot worth adding to an existing Microsoft 365 Business plan?
The Copilot Business add-on lists $21 per user a month on annual terms ($25.20 month-to-month) and needs an eligible Microsoft 365 Business plan. A promotional $18 yearly price runs only from 1 July to 31 December 2026 for eligible existing customers, on an annual commitment for the first year.
Who should consider it. Consider it if your team already works in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams and admins want data protection and management controls.
Start here: first steps with Microsoft 365 Copilot
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Microsoft 365 Copilot, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Organisations already on Microsoft 365 that want an assistant inside Office apps.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Get general AI assistance", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- No free plan is confirmed. Start with the free trial. Business Standard and Premium offer a one-month free trial with a credit card. The add-on shows "Try for free", but its length is not stated.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: An organisation that already pays for Microsoft 365 Business and wants Copilot in the apps people use daily.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Individuals who want a standalone assistant: the business plans require Microsoft 365 licensing, and individual pricing is not on this page.
- Teams that expect everything to be included: some advanced features are billed by usage.
Alternatives: ChatGPT, Gemini. Reasons to switch.
What Microsoft 365 Copilot actually does
- Adds Copilot to Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote and Outlook on desktop, web and mobile, and to Teams for users with a Teams licence.
- The add-on includes analytics, Enterprise Data Protection and management controls.
- Business Standard and Premium bundles include Copilot with the Microsoft 365 apps; Premium adds identity, access and threat protection.
- Copilot Chat is available to sign in with a work account at no additional cost.
Source: Microsoft 365 Copilot pricing page (opens in a new tab).
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- An organisation that already pays for Microsoft 365 Business and wants Copilot in the apps people use daily.
- An administrator who needs spend controls for usage-billed features.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Individuals who want a standalone assistant: the business plans require Microsoft 365 licensing, and individual pricing is not on this page.
- Teams that expect everything to be included: some advanced features are billed by usage.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Draft a customer reply from a long email thread
Outcome: A reviewed reply in Outlook
- Open the email thread in Outlook with Copilot enabled.
- Ask Copilot to summarise the thread and the open questions.
- Ask for a draft reply that answers those questions.
- Edit the draft and check any facts or commitments before sending.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Prices for the add-on and bundles are published for both yearly and monthly billing
- Business Standard and Premium bundles offer a one-month free trial
- Admins can set spending controls for usage-billed features
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Requires an eligible Microsoft 365 Business plan for the add-on
- The promotional $18 yearly price applies to eligible existing customers in the first year only and is not available on trials
- Some advanced features are billed by usage
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Not verifiedFree-plan availability has not been verified.
Free trial
YesBusiness Standard and Premium offer a one-month free trial with a credit card. The add-on shows "Try for free", but its length is not stated.
Cheapest paid plan
Copilot Business (add-on)From $21/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $25.20 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Copilot Business (add-on) |
| Requires an existing eligible Microsoft 365 Business plan; analytics, Enterprise Data Protection, management controls |
| Business Standard with Copilot |
| Microsoft 365 apps with Copilot; core identity and access management for up to 300 users |
| Business Premium with Copilot |
| Adds identity and access management, email and threat protection, and sensitive-data protection; pre-built agents |
| Individuals | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Copilot comes with a Microsoft 365 Personal or Family subscription; price is not on this page |
How usage is counted
- Everyday AI is included in the licence. Some advanced features, such as Copilot Cowork, Autopilot, Code and Work IQ APIs, are billed by usage through Copilot Credits.
- Administrators can set spending controls in Cost Management in the Microsoft 365 admin center.
- Pricing model
- Per seat or user, Usage-based
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Not confirmed · Not stated on the pricing page; usage-billed Work IQ APIs are mentioned.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page shows "$" on a US English page without naming the currency.
- Copilot Chat is included at no additional cost with eligible Microsoft 365 plans when you sign in with a work account. That is not a standalone free plan.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
ChatGPT
Reason to consider it: A standalone assistant with a free plan, not tied to a Microsoft 365 licence.
- Free access: ChatGPT is "free plan" (Unlimited text chats (abuse guardrails apply); limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research, memory and Codex access); Microsoft 365 Copilot is "free trial".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Gemini
Reason to consider it: Works inside Gmail and Docs for Google accounts; Gemini Enterprise is sold to businesses from $21 per seat per month.
- Free access: Gemini is "free plan" (Flash-Lite model; image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas, Gems, Gemini Notebook; limited Flow access; 15 GB storage); Microsoft 365 Copilot is "free trial".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Claude
Reason to consider it: Team seats from $20 per seat a month on annual billing, with no model training on content by default.
- Free access: Claude is "free plan" (Sonnet and Haiku; web search, file creation, code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 projects. Claude Code, Research and Claude in Chrome are not included); Microsoft 365 Copilot is "free trial".
- API: Claude documented; Microsoft 365 Copilot not verified.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for Claude but not for Microsoft 365 Copilot: browser-extension.
Frequently asked questions
Does Microsoft 365 Copilot have a free plan?
The vendor's pricing page does not say whether a free plan exists, so we cannot tell. Check the vendor directly. A free trial is also offered. Business Standard and Premium offer a one-month free trial with a credit card. The add-on shows "Try for free", but its length is not stated.
How much does Microsoft 365 Copilot cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Copilot Business (add-on): from $21/user/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $25.20 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Microsoft 365 Copilot have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not stated on the pricing page; usage-billed Work IQ APIs are mentioned.
Can I use Microsoft 365 Copilot output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Copilot pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Business plans, add-on prices, trials, usage billing, platforms | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Individual and Enterprise pricing (linked, not on the page)
- Trial length for the add-on
- Copilot Credit prices and allowances
- The currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.