Verdict
Is Udio's free quota enough to try it, and what changes on Standard?
Free gives 10 credits a day and 100 a month with up to 3 full-length (2:10) generations a day. Standard gives 2,400 credits a month without the daily limit and unlocks Voice Control, editing of music and lyrics, and generation from uploaded audio.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you want a free daily quota to try prompt-to-song generation and editing tools.
Start here: first steps with Udio
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Udio, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Experimenting with song generation, editing and style references on a free daily quota.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Generate music", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 10 credits a day and 100 a month, no rollover; up to 4 songs at once; 3 full-length songs a day.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A hobbyist trying song generation on the free quota.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs to know commercial-use rights from the pricing page: they are not stated there.
- Anyone who wants to generate many full-length songs a day on a free plan: Free allows 3 a day.
Alternatives: Suno, AIVA. Reasons to switch.
What Udio actually does
- Generates songs from prompts, style references and uploaded audio.
- Standard and Pro add Voice Control, a library of voices, editing of music and lyrics, and custom cover art.
- Lets you extend and remix songs and blend or reduce styles on paid plans.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A hobbyist trying song generation on the free quota.
- A musician who wants to edit lyrics and reuse a saved voice (Standard).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs to know commercial-use rights from the pricing page: they are not stated there.
- Anyone who wants to generate many full-length songs a day on a free plan: Free allows 3 a day.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Draft a song and refine it
Outcome: A song draft with edited lyrics
- Generate a song from a short prompt on the free daily quota.
- Extend or remix the best version.
- Edit the lyrics and music on a paid plan if you need more control.
- Check Udio's terms before using the result commercially.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Free quota limits are stated per day and per month
- Monthly and annual prices are both shown, with a USD selector
- A free trial is offered on Standard
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Credits do not roll over
- Free full-length generations are capped at 3 a day
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan10 credits a day and 100 a month, no rollover; up to 4 songs at once; 3 full-length songs a day
Free trial
YesStandard offers a free trial; the page marks some features as not included in free trials.
Cheapest paid plan
StandardFrom $8/mo, billed annually, or $10 month-to-month
Show all 3 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| 10 credits a day and 100 a month, no rollover; up to 4 songs at once; 3 full-length songs a day |
| Standard |
| 2,400 credits a month, no rollover; up to 6 songs at once; Voice Control; editing music and lyrics; audio uploads |
| Pro |
| 6,000 credits a month, no rollover; up to 10 songs at once; all features |
How usage is counted
- Free: 10 credits a day and 100 a month, up to 4 songs generated at once, 3 full-length songs a day.
- Standard: 2,400 credits a month, up to 6 songs at once. Pro: 6,000 credits, up to 10 songs at once. Monthly credits do not roll over.
- Extra credits: 100 for $3 or 1,000 for $25.
- Pricing model
- Credits
- Currency
- USD (shown by the vendor for the region we checked)
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Not confirmed · Not covered on the pricing page.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page offers USD, GBP and EUR and says tax rates may vary by location. A student discount is available.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Suno
Reason to consider it: A free plan of 50 daily credits with no commercial rights, and commercial rights stated from the $8 Pro plan.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Suno only.
AIVA
Reason to consider it: Composes tracks with copyright and monetisation terms stated for each plan.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for AIVA only.
Soundraw
Reason to consider it: Background music with commercial use stated on every paid plan and unlimited downloads on Creator.
- Free access: Soundraw is "free options not stated"; Udio is "free plan".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Soundraw only.
Frequently asked questions
Does Udio have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 10 credits a day and 100 a month, no rollover; up to 4 songs at once; 3 full-length songs a day. A free trial is also offered. Standard offers a free trial; the page marks some features as not included in free trials.
How much does Udio cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Standard: from $8/mo, billed annually, or $10 month-to-month. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Udio have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not covered on the pricing page.
Can I use Udio output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Udio pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices (USD), credits, free quota, features | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Commercial-use and ownership terms
- Free-trial length and exclusions
- Platforms and API
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added after research from the vendor's official pages.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.