AI writing and document tools

Writesonic

Pricing is built around AI-search visibility tracking, articles and site audits.

Verdict

Should an SEO team buy Writesonic for article output and AI-search tracking together?

Writesonic's plans bundle monthly article allowances, site audits and tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews.

Who should consider it. Consider it if SEO output and AI-search visibility are the same job on your team.

Start here: first steps with Writesonic

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Writesonic, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
SEO-led teams that want article allowances plus AI-search tracking.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Draft SEO articles", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
No free plan is confirmed. Start with the free trial. "Start free trial" on Starter, Basic and Growth. The page says no credit card is needed. Trial length is not stated.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: A solo marketer publishing about 15 SEO articles a month who wants to watch AI-search mentions (Starter).
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and anything the plan limits. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Teams that want a general writing assistant: the pricing page is organised around search visibility and SEO workflows.
  • Buyers planning month-to-month billing: the page shows annual-billing rates only.

Alternatives: Jasper, Copy.ai. Reasons to switch.

What Writesonic actually does

  • Writes SEO articles from prompts.
  • Tracks whether and how your brand appears in answers from ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews.
  • Audits your site and runs agentic workflows that suggest and carry out search-visibility actions.

Source: Writesonic pricing page (opens in a new tab), Writesonic API documentation (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • A solo marketer publishing about 15 SEO articles a month who wants to watch AI-search mentions (Starter).
  • A small agency with two users and one project (Basic).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Teams that want a general writing assistant: the pricing page is organised around search visibility and SEO workflows.
  • Buyers planning month-to-month billing: the page shows annual-billing rates only.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Run a monthly SEO article batch

Outcome: A month of drafted articles with visibility tracking in place

  1. Set up tracked prompts (Starter allows 50).
  2. Run a site audit to find pages worth updating.
  3. Generate articles up to your plan's monthly allowance.
  4. Edit each article for accuracy, then publish.
  5. Check tracked AI-search visibility the following month.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Allowances per plan are stated clearly
  • A free trial without a credit card is advertised
  • Extra users ($50 per user per month) and Growth article add-ons are priced

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • No permanent free plan is listed
  • Monthly-billed prices are not shown

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

No free plan

Listed as paid only.

Free trial

Yes

"Start free trial" on Starter, Basic and Growth. The page says no credit card is needed. Trial length is not stated.

Cheapest paid plan

Starter

From $79/mo (currency not named), billed annually

Show all 4 plans and limits
Writesonic plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Starter
  • $79/mo (currency not named), billed annually (Per month, billed annually)
50 prompts, 15 articles per month, 10 site audits (100 pages each), 1 user, 1 project
Basic
  • $199/mo (currency not named), billed annually (Per month, billed annually)
100 prompts, 25 articles per month, 20 site audits (1,200 pages each), 2 users, 1 project
Growth
  • $399/mo (currency not named), billed annually (Per month, billed annually)
200 prompts, 50 articles per month, 50 site audits (2,500 pages each), 3 users, 2 projects
EnterpriseCustom pricing (contact sales)No limits listed

How usage is counted

  • Articles per month: 15, 25 or 50 depending on plan.
  • Site audits per month: 10 to 50. Tracked prompts: 50, 100 or 200.
  • Agentic workflow runs are trial allowances of 10, 50 and 100. Growth includes an Action Center trial of 5 on-page and 5 off-page actions a month.
Pricing model
Flat tiers
Currency
Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Yes · Writesonic publishes API documentation (reference and a GEO API). Which plans can use it was not verified.
Pricing checked
20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Annual billing is marked as saving 20%; the monthly-billed price is not shown.
  • Cancellations take effect at the next billing cycle; the FAQ mentions a 7-day refund.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

Jasper

Reason to consider it: A per-seat platform centred on brand voice rather than SEO volume.

  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Writesonic with Jasper

Copy.ai

Reason to consider it: A cheaper chat-style plan if you only need drafting help.

  • Free access: Copy.ai is "free options not stated"; Writesonic is "free trial".
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Writesonic with Copy.ai

Compare Writesonic with Jasper and Copy.ai

Frequently asked questions

Does Writesonic have a free plan?

No free plan is listed on the vendor's pricing page. A free trial is also offered. "Start free trial" on Starter, Basic and Growth. The page says no credit card is needed. Trial length is not stated.

How much does Writesonic cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Starter: from $79/mo (currency not named), billed annually. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.

Does Writesonic have an API?

Yes. Writesonic publishes API documentation (reference and a GEO API). Which plans can use it was not verified.

Can I use Writesonic output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Writesonic pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, prices, allowances, trial20 Oct 2026
Writesonic API documentation (opens in a new tab)Existence of a public API20 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Free-trial length
  • Monthly-billed prices
  • Overage behaviour
  • Which plans include API access

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.