AI writing and document tools

AI writing products look similar on the surface but are sold in very different ways. Some charge per seat and centre on brand context. Some sell a cheap chat assistant, and some price around SEO or AI-search output.

The tools below were researched from their official pricing pages. None has been hands-on tested by us yet, so use this page to narrow a shortlist, then use each vendor's own trial or free plan to test output quality.

How to choose in this category

Who this is for

Marketers, small businesses and teams who draft marketing copy, articles or documents and will edit and fact-check every piece before it is published.

Problems it solves

  • Getting from a brief to a first draft faster.
  • Keeping one voice across several writers.
  • Producing search-focused articles and tracking how a brand appears in AI answers.

How to choose

  1. Decide what you write: marketing copy, SEO articles or team documents.
  2. Check whether you need saved brand voice and audience settings, or a general assistant.
  3. Count writers and price per seat. Note annual commitments.
  4. Test the same brief in two tools and edit both drafts, timing the edit.
  5. Check what the plan says about content ownership and the models it uses.

Compare plans and tradeoffs

Documented plan details, listed alphabetically. Free-plan availability does not mean every feature is included. Compare confirmed free plans across categories.

Scroll sideways in the table to compare prices and tradeoffs.

AI writing and document tools: free limits, pricing and tradeoffs
ToolFree planPaid entry priceMain tradeoff
Copy.aiChecked 20 Oct 2026Not confirmedFrom $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-monthNo plan is listed between Chat ($29) and Growth ($1,000 a month on annual terms).
JasperChecked 20 Oct 2026No free planFrom $59/seat/mo, billed annually, or $69 month-to-monthThere is no free plan, and Pro costs $59 to $69 per seat per month, more than chat-style assistants.
NotionChecked 21 Oct 20265 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AIFrom $10/user/mo, billing frequency not statedThe page does not state the length of the AI trial or the credits included with each plan, and annual per-member prices are not shown.
WritesonicChecked 20 Oct 2026No free planFrom $79/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyThere is no permanent free plan, and the prices shown ($79 to $399 a month) are annual-billing rates.

4 tools researched

Filter and sort
  • Writing & docs

    Copy.ai

    Chat plan for individuals plus workflow plans priced by seats and credits.

    Best for: Individuals who want one low-cost chat assistant across several model providers

    Free options not stated
    From $24/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyor $29 (currency not named) month-to-monthChecked 20 Oct 2026
  • Writing & docs

    Jasper

    Paid AI platform for marketing teams, built around brand voice and reusable context.

    Best for: Marketing teams that need one brand voice across many writers

    Free trial
    From $59/seat/mo, billed annuallyor $69 month-to-monthChecked 20 Oct 2026
  • Writing & docs

    Notion

    Team workspace with AI agents and meeting notes on the Business plan; priced in USD.

    Best for: Teams that keep documents and projects in one workspace and want AI inside it

    Free plan
    From $10/user/mo, billing frequency not statedChecked 21 Oct 2026
  • Writing & docs

    Writesonic

    Pricing is built around AI-search visibility tracking, articles and site audits.

    Best for: SEO-led teams that want article allowances plus AI-search tracking

    Free trial
    From $79/mo (currency not named), billed annuallyChecked 20 Oct 2026

Recommendations by need

Chosen from published plan details. Not hands-on tested, and not influenced by affiliate status.

A marketing team that wants brand context and accepts per-seat pricing

Jasper

Pro lists Brand Voices, Knowledge assets and Audiences with stated limits, billed per seat.

An individual who wants a low-cost chat assistant

Copy.ai

The Chat plan is listed at $29 a month or $24 on annual billing, with 5 seats included.

An SEO-led team that wants article allowances and AI-search tracking

Writesonic

Plans state articles per month, site audits and tracked AI platforms.

A team workspace with AI agents and meeting notes

Notion

Business ($20 per member) lists Notion Agent and AI Meeting Notes, while Free and Plus show a limited AI trial.

Free plans, costs and data in this category

Few writing tools here have a free plan to test with. Jasper offers a 7-day Pro trial, Writesonic lists no permanent free plan, and Copy.ai's free access is not stated. Notion has a free plan with page-history and file limits. Plan to test on a trial, with a date set for its end.

Counted from our records of the 4 tools here: 1 have a confirmed free plan, 2 offer only a free trial, 2 price per seat, 2 meter credits or usage, and 2 show prices without naming the currency.

Cost and billing warnings

  • Jasper's annual price is paid up front with a 12-month commitment, and a note on its page about annual savings does not match $59 against $69.
  • Copy.ai's plans jump from Chat ($29 a month) to Growth ($1,000 a month on annual terms), with nothing between, and its currency is not named.
  • Writesonic's displayed prices ($79 to $399 a month) are annual-billing rates and its currency is not named.
  • Notion's Custom Agents are free to try, then cost $10 per 1,000 monthly credits.

Privacy, data and licensing questions

  • Do not paste customer documents or private data into a drafting tool without reading its data terms.
  • Check whether the vendor trains models on your inputs.
  • Drafts can contain invented facts and quotations. Verify them before publishing.
  • Check content ownership and whether you must disclose AI help to your audience or platform.

We have not verified any vendor's data handling and do not give legal advice. See the privacy review checklist.

Best first steps before paying

  1. Write a one-page brief with only facts you can support.
  2. Draft the same piece in two tools and time your editing.
  3. Check every figure and quotation against a source.
  4. Use the AI content review checklist before publishing.

Go deeper: Seat costs and annual commitments, worked out (guide); Why is my AI summary inaccurate? (guide); Test an AI tool before buying annually (guide); Create a first marketing content workflow (workflow); Jasper vs Copy.ai: pricing structure compared (comparison);cost planner.

What to look for

How you are charged

Per seat, per credit, or per article all behave differently as your team or output grows. Work out your own monthly volume before comparing headline prices.

Free plan versus free trial

A free plan stays free. A trial ends. Several pages in this category advertise a trial without saying how long it lasts.

Brand and context controls

If several people write for one brand, check how many voices, knowledge assets and audiences each plan allows.

Currency and billing interval

Annual prices are usually shown as a monthly figure. Check whether the page names its currency and whether monthly billing is available.

Comparisons in this category

Guides for this decision

Other categories: AI 3D tools, AI app and website builders, AI assistants, AI automation tools, AI coding tools, AI image tools, AI music tools, AI presentation tools, AI research tools, AI video tools, AI voice and audio tools, AI customer support, AI cybersecurity tools, AI data analysis, AI design tools, AI education tools, AI finance operations, AI HR tools, AI meeting note-takers, AI model platforms, AI sales and CRM, AI translation tools.