AI writing and document tools

Copy.ai

Chat plan for individuals plus workflow plans priced by seats and credits.

Verdict

Does Copy.ai's low-cost Chat plan cover what a small team needs, or do you need workflow credits?

Copy.ai's self-serve Chat plan gives access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models for $24 to $29 a month. Workflow credits are sold in much larger plans.

Who should consider it. Consider Chat if you want several model families under one subscription.

Start here: first steps with Copy.ai

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Copy.ai, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Individuals who want one low-cost chat assistant across several model providers.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Write marketing copy", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
No free plan or trial is confirmed. The cheapest paid plan with a recorded price is From $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually. If a monthly option exists, consider it for the first cycles.
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: A freelancer who wants to compare answers from several model families in one subscription.
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
  • Paying for a year before testing one real job.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Teams that want workflow automation but not 75+ seats: the smallest published workflow plan is Growth at $1,000 a month on annual terms.
  • Buyers who need a confirmed free tier: the pricing page does not state one.

Alternatives: Jasper, Writesonic. Reasons to switch.

What Copy.ai actually does

  • A chat assistant with access to models from OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini.
  • Automated workflows on larger plans, for repeatable content tasks.
  • Enterprise adds API access, bulk workflow runs and 20+ integrations.

Source: Copy.ai pricing page (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • A freelancer who wants to compare answers from several model families in one subscription.
  • A five-person team sharing a Chat plan (5 seats included).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Teams that want workflow automation but not 75+ seats: the smallest published workflow plan is Growth at $1,000 a month on annual terms.
  • Buyers who need a confirmed free tier: the pricing page does not state one.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Compare model outputs for one brief

Outcome: A reviewed draft chosen from several model outputs

  1. Write a short brief with audience, goal and length.
  2. Run it in Chat with models from different providers.
  3. Compare the drafts side by side against your brief.
  4. Edit the best one and fact-check it yourself.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Entry plan includes 5 seats
  • Self-serve upgrades and downgrades are prorated
  • Multiple model providers are available on Chat

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • Large gap between Chat and Growth pricing

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Not verified

Free-plan availability has not been verified.

Free trial

Not stated

The page has a "Try for free" button but gives no trial or free-plan details.

Cheapest paid plan

Chat

From $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month

Show all 5 plans and limits
Copy.ai plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
Chat
  • $29/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
  • $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually ($288 per year)
5 seats; unlimited words and projects
Growth
  • $1,000/mo (currency not named), billed annually ($12,000 per year; monthly billing not stated)
75 seats; 20K workflow credits per month
Expansion
  • $2,000/mo (currency not named), billed annually ($24,000 per year)
150 seats; 45K workflow credits per month; contact the accounts team
Scale
  • $3,000/mo (currency not named), billed annually ($36,000 per year)
200 seats; 75K workflow credits per month; contact the accounts team
EnterpriseCustom pricing (contact sales)No limits listed

How usage is counted

  • Chat: unlimited words and projects, with 5 seats included.
  • Workflow plans include 20K to 75K workflow credits a month. The value of a credit is not stated.
Pricing model
Flat tiers, Credits
Currency
Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Yes · API access is listed on the Enterprise plan.
Pricing checked
20 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Rechecked on 21 October 2026: the pricing page, its FAQ and its footnotes name no currency, so the "$" is shown as listed and never treated as USD.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

Jasper

Reason to consider it: Brand Voice, Knowledge and Audience controls with stated limits, at a higher per-seat price.

  • Free access: Jasper is "free trial"; Copy.ai is "free options not stated".
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Copy.ai with Jasper

Read the side-by-side comparison

Writesonic

Reason to consider it: Plans built around SEO articles and AI-search tracking.

  • Free access: Writesonic is "free trial"; Copy.ai is "free options not stated".
  • Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.

Compare Copy.ai with Writesonic

Compare Copy.ai with Jasper and Writesonic

Frequently asked questions

Does Copy.ai have a free plan?

The vendor's pricing page does not say whether a free plan exists, so we cannot tell. Check the vendor directly. Whether a free trial exists is not stated.

How much does Copy.ai cost?

The lowest-priced paid plan is Chat: from $24/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 20 Oct 2026.

Does Copy.ai have an API?

Yes. API access is listed on the Enterprise plan.

Can I use Copy.ai output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Copy.ai pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, prices, seats, workflow credits20 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Whether a free plan or trial exists
  • Overage behaviour and credit value
  • Monthly billing for Growth and above
  • Refund policy

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Initial research from the vendor's official pages.
  • 21 Oct 2026 · Rechecked currency wording and billing basis on the official pricing page.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.