Verdict
Is Bolt's free plan enough to build and host a small project?
The free plan lists 1M tokens a month with a 300K daily limit, 10MB uploads and hosting, with Bolt branding on websites. Pro ($18 a month, billed annually) lifts the limits to 10M tokens with rollover and removes branding.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you want to describe an app in chat, deploy it quickly and start for free.
Start here: first steps with Bolt
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Bolt, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Starting an app from a prompt, a Figma file or a GitHub repository.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Build an app or website", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 1M tokens a month (300K daily); 10MB uploads; 333K web requests a month; public and private projects; Bolt branding on websites.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: Someone testing an app idea on the free plan, with hosting included.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs a custom domain on a free plan: custom domains start at Pro.
- Anyone who needs tokens to roll over without paying: free tokens do not roll over.
Alternatives: Lovable, Replit. Reasons to switch.
What Bolt actually does
- Builds websites and apps from chat prompts, and can start from Figma, GitHub or a template.
- Includes hosting, databases and authentication on all plans, with custom domains and SEO boosting from Pro.
- Pro adds connectors and MCPs, private sharing and a choice of database provider.
- Teams adds centralised billing, access management, org-wide sharing, team templates, private NPM registries and SSO.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- Someone testing an app idea on the free plan, with hosting included.
- A small agency that needs custom domains and no Bolt branding (Pro).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs a custom domain on a free plan: custom domains start at Pro.
- Anyone who needs tokens to roll over without paying: free tokens do not roll over.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Turn a landing-page brief into a live site
Outcome: A deployed landing page you have tested
- Describe the page, its sections and any brand colours in chat, or start from a template.
- Preview the result and ask for specific changes.
- Test forms, links and mobile layout yourself.
- Deploy with included hosting; upgrade to Pro if you need your own domain.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- The free plan lists token, upload and request limits explicitly
- Hosting is included on every plan
- Pro prices and token allowances are stated
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Free tokens are capped daily and do not roll over
- Bolt branding appears on websites made on the free plan
- Generated authentication and data flows still need testing in real scenarios (editorial caution)
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan1M tokens a month (300K daily); 10MB uploads; 333K web requests a month; public and private projects; Bolt branding on websites
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $18/mo (currency not named), billed annually
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| 1M tokens a month (300K daily); 10MB uploads; 333K web requests a month; public and private projects; Bolt branding on websites |
| Pro |
| 10M tokens a month with rollover; no daily limit; 100MB uploads; 1M web requests; custom domain; no Bolt branding |
| Teams |
| From 10M tokens a month per member; centralised billing; access management; SSO; priority support |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Custom annual contract billed by consumption; SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, ISO 27001; SSO; audit logs |
How usage is counted
- Free: 1M tokens a month with a 300K daily limit, 10MB file uploads and 333K web requests a month. Unused tokens do not roll over.
- Pro: 10M tokens a month with rollover, no daily limit, 100MB uploads and 1M web requests a month.
- Teams: from 10M tokens a month per member, with no daily limit.
- Pricing model
- Usage-based, Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Not confirmed · Not covered on the pricing page.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- Annual-billing prices are shown; the page shows struck-through higher amounts per year but does not state a month-to-month price.
- Prices exclude applicable taxes.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Lovable
Reason to consider it: A free plan with daily build credits and a $25 Pro plan; credits are the billing unit instead of tokens.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Replit
Reason to consider it: A paid-from-the-start workspace ($20 a month Core) with agents, hosting and collaborators.
- Free access: Replit is "free options not stated"; Bolt is "free plan".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
v0
Reason to consider it: A free plan of 7 messages a day with deployment to Vercel, and per-user paid plans.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Frequently asked questions
Does Bolt have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 1M tokens a month (300K daily); 10MB uploads; 333K web requests a month; public and private projects; Bolt branding on websites.
How much does Bolt cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $18/mo (currency not named), billed annually. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Bolt have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not covered on the pricing page.
Can I use Bolt output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Bolt pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, token and upload limits, team features | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Monthly-billed prices for Pro and Teams
- Enterprise pricing
- Trial terms beyond the free plan
- The currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.