Verdict
Can you build something real on Lovable's free plan, and when does Pro matter?
The Free plan lists a daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month), 20 monthly Cloud credits, unlimited collaborators and 5 lovable.app domains, with invite-only publishing. Pro ($25 a month) adds 100 monthly credits, rollovers, custom domains and removal of the Lovable badge.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you want to prototype a web app from a brief and invite collaborators without a credit card.
Start here: first steps with Lovable
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Lovable, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Turning a web-app brief into an editable prototype that a team can build on.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Build an app or website", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: No credit card; daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month); 20 Cloud credits a month; unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A founder prototyping a web app brief on the free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who wants to publish publicly on the free plan: free publishing is invite-only.
- Anyone who needs predictable usage without credits: credits are the limiting unit.
Alternatives: Bolt, Replit. Reasons to switch.
What Lovable actually does
- Builds web apps from prompts and lets you edit and publish them.
- Includes cloud services, with a monthly grant of Cloud credits on the free plan.
- Pro adds credit rollovers, on-demand top-ups, custom domains, user roles and permissions, and design systems.
- Business adds a team workspace, role-based access, SSO, a security centre and priority support.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A founder prototyping a web app brief on the free plan.
- A student using the discount of up to 50% off Pro.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who wants to publish publicly on the free plan: free publishing is invite-only.
- Anyone who needs predictable usage without credits: credits are the limiting unit.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Turn a one-page brief into a prototype
Outcome: A working prototype your team can review
- Write a one-page brief that names the screens and the data each one shows.
- Generate the first version and open it.
- Ask for changes one screen at a time and watch your credit balance.
- Invite collaborators to review before you publish.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- The free plan lists daily and monthly grants
- Unlimited collaborators on the free plan
- A student discount of up to 50% off Pro is offered
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Free publishing is invite-only
- Credits limit how much you can build each month
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planNo credit card; daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month); 20 Cloud credits a month; unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $25/mo (currency not named), billed monthly
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| No credit card; daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month); 20 Cloud credits a month; unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing |
| Pro |
| 100 monthly credits; credit rollovers; on-demand top-ups; custom domains; user roles; removes the Lovable badge |
| Business |
| 100 monthly credits; team workspace; role-based access; SSO; security centre; priority support |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Platform fee plus volume-based pricing; SCIM; audit logs; custom SLA |
How usage is counted
- Free: a daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month), 20 Cloud credits a month and 4 credits for AI features in apps you build.
- Pro: 100 monthly credits plus the free grants, with rollovers and on-demand top-ups.
- Business: 100 monthly credits plus Pro features, with SSO and a security centre.
- Pricing model
- Credits
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Not confirmed · Not covered on the pricing page.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- Prices are shown for the Monthly view. A Yearly view says "2 months free" without a price captured here.
- Students can verify status for up to 50% off Pro.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Bolt
Reason to consider it: Free plan of 1M tokens a month with hosting included, and Pro at $18 a month on annual billing.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Replit
Reason to consider it: A browser workspace with agents and hosting, from $20 a month.
- Free access: Replit is "free options not stated"; Lovable is "free plan".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
v0
Reason to consider it: A free plan of 7 messages a day and deployment to Vercel, with per-user paid plans.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Frequently asked questions
Does Lovable have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: No credit card; daily grant of 5 build credits (up to 30 a month); 20 Cloud credits a month; unlimited collaborators; 5 lovable.app domains; invite-only publishing.
How much does Lovable cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $25/mo (currency not named), billed monthly. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Lovable have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not covered on the pricing page.
Can I use Lovable output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Lovable pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices (Monthly view), free grants, features | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- The yearly-billed prices
- Enterprise platform fee
- Who owns the projects and code (a FAQ answer that was not available)
- Refund policy for credits
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
- 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.