Verdict
Does Notion's AI come with the free and Plus plans, or only Business?
Free and Plus include a limited trial of Notion AI. Business ($20 per member a month) lists Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes and Enterprise Search (beta). Custom Agents are free to try and then cost $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits.
Who should consider it. Consider it if your team already organises work in Notion and wants an agent and meeting notes in the same place.
Start here: first steps with Notion
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Notion, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Teams that keep documents and projects in one workspace and want AI inside it.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Write and organise team documents", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: 5 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AI.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A freelancer organising projects on the free plan.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who wants full AI features on Free or Plus: the page marks them as a limited trial.
- Anyone who needs annual per-member prices from the page: they are not shown.
Alternatives: Microsoft 365 Copilot, Jasper. Reasons to switch.
What Notion actually does
- A workspace for documents, databases, forms and sites, with Notion Calendar.
- Notion AI includes Notion Agent, meeting notes and a research mode; Free and Plus show a limited trial of these.
- Business adds SAML SSO, private teamspaces, granular database permissions and premium connections such as GitHub and Asana.
- Enterprise adds zero data retention with LLM providers, SCIM, an audit log and SIEM/DLP connections.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A freelancer organising projects on the free plan.
- A team using AI meeting notes and an agent on Business.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who wants full AI features on Free or Plus: the page marks them as a limited trial.
- Anyone who needs annual per-member prices from the page: they are not shown.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Turn meeting notes into project tasks
Outcome: A task list in a project database
- Capture the meeting in a Notion page (AI Meeting Notes on Business).
- Ask the agent to list action items with owners where the notes name them.
- Add the tasks to your project database.
- Review each task against the original notes.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Prices are stated in USD
- Plan limits (history, guests, domains, charts) are tabulated
- Plus is free for students and educators with a one-member limit
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Full AI features start at Business; Free and Plus show a limited trial
- The AI trial length is not stated
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free plan5 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AI
Free trial
Not statedFree and Plus include a limited trial of Notion AI; its length is not stated.
Cheapest paid plan
PlusFrom $10/user/mo, billing frequency not stated
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free |
| 5 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AI |
| Plus |
| Custom forms and sites; unlimited charts and guests; 30-day history; basic connections |
| Business |
| Notion Agent; AI Meeting Notes; Enterprise Search (beta); SAML SSO; private teamspaces; 90-day history |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | Zero data retention with LLM providers; SCIM; audit log; SIEM/DLP connections |
How usage is counted
- Free: 5 MB per uploaded file, 7-day page history, 10 external guests, 1 chart and 1 notion.site domain.
- Plus: 30-day page history, unlimited guests and charts, 5 notion.site domains. Business: 90-day page history. Enterprise: unlimited page history.
- Custom Agents are free to try and then $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits; Workers (beta) also require credits.
- Pricing model
- Per seat or user, Credits
- Currency
- USD (shown by the vendor for the region we checked)
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · The plan table lists a Public API and Webhooks; which plans include them is not shown. Developers are directed to a separate site.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page says "Price in USD" and offers Pay monthly or Pay yearly, with yearly saving up to 20%, but the annual per-member prices are not shown.
- Refunds: full within 3 days for monthly plans or 30 days for annual plans, with longer windows in some regions.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Microsoft 365 Copilot
Reason to consider it: Copilot inside Word, Excel and Outlook for teams on Microsoft 365.
- Free access: Microsoft 365 Copilot is "free trial"; Notion is "free plan".
- API: Microsoft 365 Copilot not verified; Notion documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: Microsoft 365 Copilot is also listed under ai-assistants.
Jasper
Reason to consider it: Marketing-focused writing with brand voice controls, rather than a general team workspace.
- Free access: Jasper is "free trial"; Notion is "free plan".
- Cheapest paid plan as listed (billing terms differ, see each price): Jasper From $59/seat/mo, billed annually; Notion From $10/user/mo, billing frequency not stated.
Fathom
Reason to consider it: A free meeting recorder with instant summaries if meeting notes are the main need.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: Fathom is also listed under meeting-notes.
Frequently asked questions
Does Notion have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: 5 MB per file; 7-day page history; 10 external guests; 1 chart; limited trial of Notion AI.
How much does Notion cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Plus: from $10/user/mo, billing frequency not stated. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Notion have an API?
Yes. The plan table lists a Public API and Webhooks; which plans include them is not shown. Developers are directed to a separate site.
Can I use Notion output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Notion pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices (USD), AI features, limits, refunds | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Annual per-member prices
- Credits included with each plan
- Which plans include the Public API, Webhooks and Workers
- Enterprise pricing
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added after research from the vendor's official pages.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.