Verdict
Is Pixelcut a fit for product photos if you want to start free and need a commercial licence later?
The Free plan lists limited background removal and upscaling with exports without a watermark. Pro and Business list unlimited background removal and upscaling, a commercial licence, team seats and monthly AI credits.
Who should consider it. Consider it if your main job is clean cut-outs and new backgrounds for product images, and you can confirm the "$" currency at checkout.
Start here: first steps with Pixelcut
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Pixelcut, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Sellers and small businesses cleaning up product photos with background removal and AI backgrounds.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Edit product images", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial use, as we recorded it: The pricing page lists a commercial licence on Pro and Business. It does not say whether the Free plan includes one.
- Which plan to start with
- Start on the free plan. The limits we recorded: Limited background removal and upscale; free export without a watermark.
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A seller removing backgrounds from a batch of product photos on Pro, using the batch export allowance.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Building a routine on a free limit that resets daily or never, without checking which.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs the free plan to include a commercial licence: the page lists the licence on Pro and Business only.
- Anyone who needs the free credit allowance for advanced models: it is not stated.
Alternatives: Photoroom, Canva. Reasons to switch.
What Pixelcut actually does
- Removes backgrounds, erases objects, upscales, expands images and generates AI backgrounds.
- Lists a Free plan with limited background removal and upscaling and exports without a watermark.
- Pro adds 600 AI credits a month, unlimited background removal and upscaling, a 3-person team, 1,000 batch exports a month and a commercial licence.
- Business adds 3,600 credits a month, a 10-person team, 2,000 batch exports a month and a commercial licence.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A seller removing backgrounds from a batch of product photos on Pro, using the batch export allowance.
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs the free plan to include a commercial licence: the page lists the licence on Pro and Business only.
- Anyone who needs the free credit allowance for advanced models: it is not stated.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Choose a plan for a product-photo batch
Outcome: A plan whose batch exports and commercial licence cover your catalogue.
- Try the Free plan on a few photos and note where the "limited" background removal stops.
- Count the product photos you export in a month against the 1,000 (Pro) or 2,000 (Business) batch export allowances.
- Check that you need the commercial licence, which the page lists on Pro and Business only.
- Confirm the price and currency at checkout, since the page shows "$" without naming the currency.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Unlimited background removal is listed on paid plans.
- A commercial licence is stated for Pro and Business.
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- Many advanced models are partner models billed in credits, and the free allowance is not stated.
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
Free planLimited background removal and upscale; free export without a watermark
Free trial
Not statedA trial is separate from a free plan.
Cheapest paid plan
ProFrom $8/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $10 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 3 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Free Free | Free | Limited background removal and upscale; free export without a watermark |
| Pro |
| 600 AI credits a month; unlimited background removal and upscale; 3-person team; 1,000 batch exports a month; commercial licence |
| Business |
| 3,600 AI credits a month; unlimited background removal and upscale; 10-person team; 2,000 batch exports a month; commercial licence |
How usage is counted
- Free: limited background removal, magic eraser, fast upscaler, generative fill and expand image; free export without a watermark.
- Credits are used for advanced AI models, particularly third-party ones, according to the page.
- Pricing model
- Credits, Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- The pricing page lists a commercial licence on Pro and Business. It does not say whether the Free plan includes one.
- API
- Not confirmed · Not verified.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The yearly prices are exactly 20% below the monthly prices, matching the page's "Save 20%" label.
- Credit costs differ by model, and the page lists a per-model image or video count for the Business plan.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Photoroom
Reason to consider it: A product-photo editor with documented background removal, shadows and a Shopify app.
- Free access: Photoroom is "free trial"; Pixelcut is "free plan".
- API: Photoroom documented; Pixelcut not verified.
- Platforms documented for Photoroom but not for Pixelcut: ios, android.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Pixelcut only.
Canva
Reason to consider it: A design suite with a free plan; a Canva-owned page says remove.bg's background remover is part of Canva.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Different category focus: Canva is also listed under ai-presentations.
- Commercial-use terms are recorded for Pixelcut only.
Adobe Firefly
Reason to consider it: Generative image tools with stated commercial-use terms for Firefly's own models.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
- Platforms documented for Adobe Firefly but not for Pixelcut: ios, android.
Frequently asked questions
Does Pixelcut have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan lists: Limited background removal and upscale; free export without a watermark.
How much does Pixelcut cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Pro: from $8/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $10 (currency not named) month-to-month. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Pixelcut have an API?
We could not confirm this from an official page. Not verified.
Can I use Pixelcut output commercially?
The pricing page lists a commercial licence on Pro and Business. It does not say whether the Free plan includes one.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Pixelcut pricing (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, credits, exports, commercial licence and credit model table | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- The Free plan's credit allowance and exact "limited" quotas.
- Whether the free plan allows commercial use: the licence is listed on Pro and Business only.
- Currency: the page shows "$" without naming it.
- Mobile app availability and plan differences on iPhone and Android.
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added after research from the vendor's official pages.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.