AI image tools

Photoroom

Product-photo editor for removing backgrounds and creating AI backgrounds, with an API.

Verdict

Does Photoroom suit regular product-photo work, and which plan matches your export volume?

All three plans include unlimited core tools (Background Remover, Retouch, AI Shadows presets, AI Fill, Expand/Resize and Enhancer) plus AI Backgrounds and AI Fashion Models. Pro gives 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month, Max 25,000 and 3,000, Ultra 75,000 and 10,000.

Who should consider it. Consider it if you edit product photos regularly and want background removal, AI backgrounds and batch limits stated by plan.

Start here: first steps with Photoroom

Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Photoroom, and we do not describe its screens or settings.

Who should start with it
Sellers who need clean product photos, background removal and AI backgrounds at volume.
Before you create an account
  • Pick one real job, for example "Edit product images", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
  • Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
  • Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
Which plan to start with
No free plan is confirmed. Start with the free trial. Pro and Max show "Start free trial"; the length is not stated. Ultra shows "Get started".
A first small task
Try a small version of a real case like this one: An online seller preparing a few hundred product photos a month.
How to tell whether it helps
Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
Common first-week mistakes
  • Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
  • Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
When to consider another tool
  • Anyone who needs 4K output on a lower tier: the page lists 4K video and image resolution only on Ultra.
  • Anyone looking for a free plan: the pricing page lists none.

Alternatives: Ideogram, Adobe Firefly. Reasons to switch.

What Photoroom actually does

  • Removes backgrounds, retouches, fixes products, adds shadows, fills and expands images.
  • Generates AI backgrounds and AI fashion models, and (from Max) video; 4K output starts at Ultra.
  • Runs on web, iPhone, iPad, Android and as a Shopify app, with API and MCP credits on paid plans.
  • Enterprise uses a committed balance shared across apps and the API, with SSO and an SLA.

Source: Photoroom pricing page (opens in a new tab).

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Good fits

  • An online seller preparing a few hundred product photos a month.
  • An agency that needs the API alongside the app (paid plans include an API and MCP credit wallet).

Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.

Consider alternatives if

  • Anyone who needs 4K output on a lower tier: the page lists 4K video and image resolution only on Ultra.
  • Anyone looking for a free plan: the pricing page lists none.

Practical workflows

Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.

Clean up and restage a product photo

Outcome: A product image on a clean or AI-generated background

  1. Upload the product photo and run Background Remover.
  2. Use AI Product Fixer or Retouch for blemishes.
  3. Add an AI background and a shadow preset.
  4. Check edges and shadows at full size, then export.

Strengths and limitations

Strengths Vendor-documented

  • Per-plan AI credits and exports are stated
  • Core editing tools are unlimited on every plan
  • Refunds are available up to one week after purchase, per the page

Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance

  • Exports pause at the monthly limit
  • Credit and export figures are maximums that depend on which features you use

Hands-on testing

Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.

Pricing

Free

Not verified

Free-plan availability has not been verified.

Free trial

Yes

Pro and Max show "Start free trial"; the length is not stated. Ultra shows "Get started".

Cheapest paid plan

Not verified

Paid pricing has not been verified for this overview.

Show all 4 plans and limits
Photoroom plans, prices and limits
PlanPrice and billingLimits and inclusions
ProSee limits8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month; up to 50 seats; price not captured
MaxSee limits25,000 AI credits and 3,000 exports a month; adds Video Generator; price not captured
UltraSee limits75,000 AI credits and 10,000 exports a month; adds 4K image and video resolution; price not captured
EnterpriseCustom pricing (contact sales)Annual contract with a committed balance shared across apps and API; SLA; SSO

How usage is counted

  • Pro: 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month. Max: 25,000 credits and 3,000 exports. Ultra: 75,000 credits and 10,000 exports.
  • The page's upper-bound estimates: up to 1,600 AI Fashion Model 1K generations on Pro, and up to 50 or 150 video generations on Max and Ultra. These are maximums using all credits on one feature.
  • Export limits apply to assets up to 2K resolution. Exports pause at the limit, with notices at 80% and 100%.
Pricing model
Credits
Currency
Paid currency not verified
Commercial use
Not verified
API
Yes · The page mentions the Photoroom API; paid plans include an API and MCP credit wallet charged at API rates. API pricing is on a separate page.
Pricing checked
21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
  • Plan prices were not captured from the page. The page says taxes (VAT/GST) are included in the price and that the monthly AI credit amount may vary by country or region.

Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Alternatives

Ideogram

Reason to consider it: Includes a Background Remover and an Object Remover in its apps suite, alongside image generation.

  • Free access: Ideogram is "free options not stated"; Photoroom is "free trial".

Compare Photoroom with Ideogram

Adobe Firefly

Reason to consider it: Generative image tools with stated commercial-use terms, in plans from $9.99 a month.

  • Free access: Adobe Firefly is "free plan" (Free daily generations across image, video and audio with access to some models; daily limits are not quantified); Photoroom is "free trial".
  • API: Adobe Firefly not verified; Photoroom documented.
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Adobe Firefly only.

Compare Photoroom with Adobe Firefly

Recraft

Reason to consider it: Image and vector generation with an API, with ownership and commercial rights stated by plan.

  • Free access: Recraft is "free plan" (Images are owned by Recraft, public in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use; credit limits not stated); Photoroom is "free trial".
  • Commercial-use terms are recorded for Recraft only.

Compare Photoroom with Recraft

Canva

Reason to consider it: A design suite with a free plan; a Canva-owned page says remove.bg's background remover is part of Canva.

  • Free access: Canva is "free plan" (4.7+ million stock photos, graphics, fonts, videos and audio; 1.6+ million templates); Photoroom is "free trial".
  • API: Canva not verified; Photoroom documented.
  • Different category focus: Canva is also listed under ai-presentations.

Compare Photoroom with Canva

Compare Photoroom with Ideogram and Adobe Firefly

Frequently asked questions

Does Photoroom have a free plan?

The vendor's pricing page does not say whether a free plan exists, so we cannot tell. Check the vendor directly. A free trial is also offered. Pro and Max show "Start free trial"; the length is not stated. Ultra shows "Get started".

How much does Photoroom cost?

We do not have a verified price to show. See the pricing section and check the vendor's page.

Does Photoroom have an API?

Yes. The page mentions the Photoroom API; paid plans include an API and MCP credit wallet charged at API rates. API pricing is on a separate page.

Can I use Photoroom output commercially?

We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.

Keep comparing

Sources and update history

SourceWhat it coveredChecked
Photoroom pricing page (opens in a new tab)Plans, credits, exports, tools, platforms, API mention21 Oct 2026

Not yet verified

These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.

  • Plan prices and the currency
  • Whether any free plan exists
  • Free-trial length
  • API pricing (on a separate page)

Research note

  • Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
  • Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
  • Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.

Update history

  • 20 Oct 2026 · Added a sourced product overview; paid prices and hands-on performance remain unverified.
  • 21 Oct 2026 · Re-researched from the vendor's official pages: pricing, limits, platform and API details.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us.