Verdict
Can Pictory turn a blog post into a usable video, and which plan covers your video minutes?
The page lists "generate video from script or URL" on all plans and a 14-day free use with 15 video minutes. Starter includes 200 video minutes a month (2,400 a year) and 100 AI credits, and a maximum video length of 5 minutes.
Who should consider it. Consider it if you regularly turn written content into short videos and want stock footage and AI voices in one tool.
Start here: first steps with Pictory
Editorial guidance based on the vendor details we recorded. We have not tested Pictory, and we do not describe its screens or settings.
- Who should start with it
- Marketers turning scripts or web content into branded explainer videos.
- Before you create an account
- Pick one real job, for example "Turn a blog post or script into a video", and prepare invented or non-sensitive input for the first try.
- Read the vendor's data and privacy terms. Our privacy review checklist lists what to look for.
- Commercial-use terms: we have not verified them. Read the vendor's terms for the plan you will use.
- Which plan to start with
- No free plan is confirmed. Start with the free trial. 14 days of free use with a limited allowance (15 video minutes, 5-minute videos).
- A first small task
- Try a small version of a real case like this one: A marketer turning a blog post into a short explainer.
- How to tell whether it helps
- Time the job by hand first. Then record minutes taken, minutes of editing and credits or usage used. Use the trial scorecard.
- Common first-week mistakes
- Spending credits or usage on experiments without noting how much one job used.
- Adding seats before you know the tool works for you, or missing a seat minimum.
- Putting private or customer data in before reading how the vendor handles it.
- When to consider another tool
- Anyone who needs a free plan: only the 14-day trial is listed.
- Anyone who needs to confirm commercial-use terms from the pricing page: they are not stated.
Alternatives: Synthesia, HeyGen. Reasons to switch.
What Pictory actually does
- Generates video from a script or URL, and from PowerPoint slides (100 a month on Starter).
- Includes stock video from Getty Images and Storyblocks, ElevenLabs AI voices and brand kits.
- Edits recorded video of up to 60 minutes (180 on Professional and Team).
- Enterprise adds Pictory Central (AI chapters, quizzes, clickable CTAs and SCORM export), SSO and custom voices.
Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fits
- A marketer turning a blog post into a short explainer.
- A team that needs several brand kits and longer videos (Professional or Team).
Scenarios are illustrative, based on plan limits and documented features.
Consider alternatives if
- Anyone who needs a free plan: only the 14-day trial is listed.
- Anyone who needs to confirm commercial-use terms from the pricing page: they are not stated.
Practical workflows
Illustrative: built from documented features, not from testing.
Turn a blog post into a short video
Outcome: A branded video drafted from your article
- Paste the article URL or a trimmed script into a new project.
- Review the scenes, stock footage and AI voice the draft picks.
- Apply your brand kit and trim to your plan's maximum length.
- Check the footage matches what the words say before you publish.
Strengths and limitations
Strengths Vendor-documented
- Monthly and annual prices are both listed
- Trial limits are stated as numbers
- Video-minute and AI-credit allowances are tabulated
Limitations and cautions Documented limits and editorial guidance
- No free plan, only a 14-day trial
- Starter videos are limited to 5 minutes
Hands-on testing
Not tested by us yet, so this page describes what the vendor documents. How testing is recorded.
Pricing
Free
No free planListed as paid only.
Free trial
Yes14 days of free use with a limited allowance (15 video minutes, 5-minute videos).
Cheapest paid plan
StarterFrom $25/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month
Show all 4 plans and limits
| Plan | Price and billing | Limits and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Starter |
| 1 user; 200 video minutes and 100 AI credits a month on monthly billing; videos up to 5 minutes |
| Professional |
| 1 user; 600 video minutes and 500 AI credits a month; videos up to 30 minutes; 5 brand kits |
| Team |
| 3 or more users; 1,800 video minutes and 2,400 AI credits a month; 10 brand kits; team workspace |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing (contact sales) | For 10 or more users; custom minutes and credits; SSO; Pictory Central |
How usage is counted
- Starter: 200 video minutes and 100 AI credits a month on monthly billing (2,400 and 1,200 a year on annual), videos up to 5 minutes, 1 brand kit.
- Professional: 600 video minutes and 500 credits a month, videos up to 30 minutes, 5 brand kits. Team: 1,800 minutes, 3 or more users.
- The 14-day free use lists 15 video minutes, 5-minute videos, 50 PowerPoint slides and 1 brand kit.
- Pricing model
- Usage-based, Per seat or user
- Currency
- Shown as "$"; the vendor's page does not name the currency
- Commercial use
- Not verified
- API
- Yes · The comparison table lists API access; which plans include it was not readable, and API pricing is on a separate page.
- Pricing checked
- 21 Oct 2026 · Vendor pricing page (opens in a new tab)
- The page says annual billing saves up to 40% and includes a consultation with a video expert it values at $210.
Prices are shown as each vendor lists them. Where a vendor shows only a "$" sign, its page does not name the currency, and vendors may show a local currency or regional price. Confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
Alternatives
Synthesia
Reason to consider it: Avatar-presented video from a script, with a free plan of about 10 watermarked minutes.
- Free access: Synthesia is "free plan" (500 credits per month; 10 minutes of video per month; 9 AI avatars; Synthesia watermark on videos); Pictory is "free trial".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
HeyGen
Reason to consider it: Avatar videos with a free plan of 3 videos a month, and lip-sync translation.
- Free access: HeyGen is "free plan" (3 videos per month, up to 1 minute each, 1 custom avatar); Pictory is "free trial".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Runway
Reason to consider it: Generates clips from prompts rather than assembling stock footage from a script.
- Free access: Runway is "free plan" (125 one-time credits; 5GB storage); Pictory is "free trial".
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
invideo AI
Reason to consider it: Credit-based AI video with a timeline editor, sold per seat; no free plan listed.
- Free access: invideo AI is "paid only"; Pictory is "free trial".
- API: invideo AI not verified; Pictory documented.
- Paid prices are in different, unnamed or not comparable currencies, so they are not compared here.
Frequently asked questions
Does Pictory have a free plan?
No free plan is listed on the vendor's pricing page. A free trial is also offered. 14 days of free use with a limited allowance (15 video minutes, 5-minute videos).
How much does Pictory cost?
The lowest-priced paid plan is Starter: from $25/mo (currency not named), billed annually, or $29 (currency not named) month-to-month. Larger plans are quoted by the vendor. Annual-billing prices are shown per month but are paid yearly. Pricing was checked 21 Oct 2026.
Does Pictory have an API?
Yes. The comparison table lists API access; which plans include it was not readable, and API pricing is on a separate page.
Can I use Pictory output commercially?
We have not verified the commercial-use terms. That is a gap in our research, not a statement about the product. Read the vendor's terms before publishing output commercially.
Keep comparing
Sources and update history
| Source | What it covered | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Pictory pricing page (opens in a new tab) | Plans, prices, video minutes, AI credits, trial, features | 21 Oct 2026 |
Not yet verified
These are gaps in our research, not claims about the product.
- Commercial-use and stock-licence terms
- Which plans include API access
- Refunds, cancellation and overage
- The currency code
Research note
- Vendor-documented: prices, plan limits, features and terms are taken from the sources above on the dates shown.
- Editorial interpretation: the verdict, good fits, tradeoffs and workflows are our reading of those facts. None of it comes from testing the tool.
- Unverified: anything listed under "Not yet verified" is a gap in our research, not a claim about the product.
Update history
- 21 Oct 2026 · Added after research from the vendor's official pages.
Spotted something out of date? Tell us.